winter run and soupy warm-up

28 Jan

this is just makes me laugh

If you haven’t ever been to someecards then you MUST go there now!  But then come back and see me again!

Today I knew I had to get off the couch and go for a run.  I was not looking forward to it.  Reason #1

I hate it when there is the ! sign - usually means it sucks outside

And reason #2?  Sometimes I’m just lazy and my motivation has been in the toilet as of late.  However, next week is my birthday and I need to find a kick ass dress to accentuate my assets.  Running will help this process!  So I bundled up

I really wasn't this excited to run

I got this Kalamazoo Marathon Buff last year when I started training for the Kalamazoo Marathon.  I wasn’t able to run it but I still had this puppy.  I didn’t even think about wearing it like this but my brother-in-law got a gaiter for Christmas and he put it on like this and DUH!  It was really windy today and the cold wind bothers my ears.  I think it’s from too many ear infections when I was little.  Even ear flaps on hats don’t really help but this was amazing!  I know people made fun of me – I heard them, but it helped so much!  I also liked that it helped to keep my face warmer.  I can’t believe I have never thought to wear it like this before.  The Buff website has a page that shows you all the ways you can wear it.  I also wore a windbreaker/water proof jacket over a long sleeve running shirt and under that some compression cold weather gear.  Then my new running tights and some knee-high soccer socks.  Soccer socks are like my lil’ secret weapon.  They are just tight enough to offer a little bit of compression, are thicker so perfect for winter running and they are a fraction of the cost of compression socks – yay!

My run wasn’t great but two positives were that I got out there and did it and I’m confident that all of my injuries from the fall have healed.  I also realized that since I have changed my stride my pace has increased.  This would be AWESOME buuuut my fitness level hasn’t quite caught up yet!  It is nice to know that once I am back in better shape I will be faster.  I have a bunch of new time goals and I would love to crush some of my old PR’s!  I came back and did some ab work that I am quite positive I will feel tomorrow.

After my run it was time to cook up some soup!  As I mentioned last night, I found this recipe on pinterest and I have been thinking about it ever since

here are all the veggies and the chicken I cooked last night

I didn’t include the garlic since I don’t seem to process it very well and I end up smelling like garlic for days.  Boo.  So I cooked the chicken in chicken broth last night and put pepper on it.  Then today I lightly salted the veggies and added another nice dose of pepper for some flavor.  Oh yes, and I used my cast iron dutch oven for a little ambiance :)

final product! very delish and VERY filling!

Wow, this was fantastic!  I really liked the flavor and think it could be a great base for other flavorings.  I also think adding noodles would nice if you wanted to trade them for the potatoes.  I didn’t miss the garlic but some of you might so add away!  I did more of a rough chop of the potatoes and onion.  I also probably added a few more carrots and an extra stalk of celery.  I will definitely be eating off of this for a while and if bread bowls didn’t have 50 million calories I would have put it in there.  But alas there’s that whole rockin’ a hot dress/outfit next week and a bread bowl is NOT on the menu!

Cream Cheese Chicken and Veggie Soup  from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons of butter     1 yellow onion, finely diced     2 cloves of garlic, minced     2 stalks of celery, diced

1/2 cup of diced carrots (handful of baby carrots)     3 cups chicken broth     2-3 potatoes, chopped

1 cup milk (1 or 2%)    4 tablespoons of flour    1 (8oz pkg of cream cheese – light or regular)

2-3 (about 1lb) chicken breasts cooked and diced (you can cook the chicken with the veggies if you don’t have any pre-cooked)

In a large pot, melt the butter and add the onion, garlic, celery and carrots.  Saute, stirring often until veggies are slightly tender and onions are translucent.  Add the chicken broth and potatoes.  Bring the soup to a simmer and cook, partially covered for about 10 minutes (or until the potatoes are fork tender).  Meanwhile, mix the flour and milk together and whisk vigorously until smooth.  Stir this into the soup and stir it quickly cooking over medium heat for 3-4 minutes until soup begins to thicken slightly.  Stir often so it doesn’t burn.  Soften the cream cheese in the microwave – about a minute at 30% power is recommended so it is really melty.  Take the melty cream cheese and cut it up into pieces so it doesn’t lump up in the soup.  Let the pieces warm in the soup and then stir it all together so the cream cheese is completely melted.  Season with salt and pepper as desired.

chow down :)

2 Responses to “winter run and soupy warm-up”

  1. EB January 28, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    that ecard is freaking awesome. good work going for a run! it was wicked out today.

  2. Larissa January 30, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Made this soup today, it’s DELISH!!! It’s the best part of my day…by far!!!

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,267 other followers

