Is this what it feels like to have a baby?

28 Nov

So, I have been wanting to start this blog for about 8 months now.  But I was nervous.  What if it sucked?  What if I am ONLY ever writing to myself?  What if I never end up signing a book deal (yes, I like to dream big and I have no contact with reality!) or I can’t keep up with posting?  As the months went by I realized these things were not important.  Rather, I wanted – wait, NEEDED to write.  And here I am!  I have given birth to a bouncing baby blog!

What finally pushed me off the cliff?  I was dumped.  Yep, pretty unceremoniously I might add.  It was over text messaging.  Now, considering a majority of our important convo’s happened over text I wasn’t really surprised.  But I was surprised by the actual act of being dumped.  Boo.  I didn’t see it coming and I haven’t heard from him since.  In order to feel better I have done the following:

1. Spent a lot of time on the couch

2. Spent a lot of time watching TV

3. Did NOT spend time cleaning my apartment.  It has gone through the, “whoa, you are depressed” messy phase

4. Signing up for every possible race I could find

5. I may or may not have tried to purchase my feelings away.  Oh and I ate my feelings too – I mean, why not?

And here we are!  While my heart still hurts, I am working on putting my life back together.  When I really want something my typical MO is to shy away from going to get it.  If I don’t try then guess what – I don’t have to worry about failing!  But when I have tried, as in REALLY put my mind to something I have been able to achieve it.  I want to write.  I feel this blog is a great start to my ultimate goal.  Not to mention, I have things to say!  I have theories!  I have advice!  I have a pretty messed up life that seems to provide hours of entertainment for others!

I promise to include pics, recipes for tasty treats as well as things I do in order to counteract my obsession with tasty treats!  By the way – my neurologist told me today that while I’m not old I am not getting any younger.  And that my metabolism is slowing down.  I think she said something else but I was stuck on the being old part!  But I have started my blog!  Yay!

7 Responses to “Is this what it feels like to have a baby?”

  1. Kara November 29, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    LOVE IT!! :)

  2. Larissa November 30, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Umm, you are adorable….and this is just one of many reasons why I LOVE YOU! Congrats on the “bouncing baby blog”….he’s adorable and awesome =)

  3. Meagan December 1, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    LOVE it. And, LOVE LOVE LOVE you. Can’t wait to read more and more!!!!

  4. Kelly German December 3, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    Amy…… You are a wonder and a beauty and I love you soooooo very much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Looooooooove the “bouncing baby blog too…… He’s a keeper!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love you today and always……..
    Mom

Leave a Reply

