I’ve been GRINCH-ED!

11 Dec

Seriously… someone STOLE some of my Christmas decorations!  WHO DOES THAT?!

But I’ll get to that in a moment.  Today was the Nutcracker!

YaY! Super excited!

The usher brought me to my seat and said, “You are that one lone seat in the middle”.  Yep, thanks Nutcracker usher, I’m quite aware that I am on my own.  Boo.  Anyway, as I mentioned, I have never seen the Nutcracker and really didn’t know the story.

An AMAZING show!

I’m so happy I went!  I definitely woke up this morning and wanted to stay in my sweats.  I would have missed an amazing production!  My favorite parts were the little rats – they were adorable! – and the snowy scene in the Pine Forrest.  The music was beautiful and the dancers were incredible.  I would love to see this again and again.

these flanked the stage - so pretty!

When I got back home I was determined to finish decorating my apt.  I have really been lazy in this area and still hadn’t finished my tree or my mantel.  That’s when I noticed – SOMEONE STOLE SOME OF MY CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS!  Yeah, I still can’t believe it.  I’m not going to lie, I feel sucker punched.  I LOVE (ed) my garland that I put on my mantel with Christmas lights – it just had a magical feel to it.  Of course I can purchase the pieces again and will do so tomorrow.  But still, its sucky.  I know I’m supposed to say, “maybe they need it more, blah, blah” but nope.  I don’t feel that way.  Bah humbug!

my poor naked mantel :(

Here is my tree – all finished.  Yes, it is leaning a bit – the poor thing has been put through the ringer.  I am not sure how much longer it will last.  It no longer folds up so I have it “up” all year round in storage.  I do take off the ornaments, although it’s getting kind of rough around the edges.  Still pretty, in a Charlie Brown sorta way

Finally! All done up!

I wrapped up empty boxes a few years ago and put those under it too :)  I’m totally bummed about my missing decorations.  Nevertheless, when I was pulling decorations out of boxes I was just setting them aside.  So the following pic is completely accidental but brightens my mood a bit (definitely more than this lovey-dovey Christmas movie, 12 Dates of Christmas on ABC Family!)

Haha, yes, I am a 5th grader

I’ll post the pics from the Ugly Christmas Sweater party tomorrow

One Response to “I’ve been GRINCH-ED!”

  1. Kara December 12, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    Gasp! Did someone break into your apartment???

Leave a Reply

