Make these snickerdoodles soon!

13 Dec

The last week of the semester is always a giant roller coaster.  Students are running around trying to deal with finals, there are always last-minute things to take care of administratively and we some how have to close the building.  Oh yeah, and there is some GIANT holiday happening as well!

coping mechanism

Today was our cookie exchange at the office.  For some reason, I forgot to add this to my bucket list – dang it!  As I mentioned last night, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make and I kept changing my mind.  I finally settled on snickerdoodles and Rolo pretzel turtles.

Ummm... HOLY COW! These are amazing!

These lil’ cinnamon/sugar pillows of goodness were awesome.  I made some snickerdoodles last year from a different recipe and they were thin, crispy and practically concave.  I was a bit disappointed.  These are the EXACT opposite.  The cookies look yellow in this picture (can you tell I’m in love with Instagram?) but in reality they are darker brown than any snickerdoodles I’m used to.  I got the recipe from How Sweet It Is – a blog that will definitely add some inches to your waist!

An art-y picture of my Rolo garbage - ooooo, shiny! ;)

Next up were the Rolo pretzel turtles.  YUM!  I first had these last year at a New Year’s Eve party and they are delish!  Not to mention, incredibly easy.  After being up late last night making the snickerdoodles, I made these during my lunch hour today.  Here is the recipe: Rolos, pretzels and pecans.  That’s it.  Put the Rolo on the pretzel, “bake” it at 350* for 3 (or 4) minutes.  Take the pan out and squish a pecan halve on the Rolo.  Ummm… DONE!  Since my apt has sub-zero temps, I just put them on the counter but otherwise I would have put them in the fridge.  These are also very tasty and literally the hardest part is unwrapping all of the Rolos.

Yes, I accidentally bought chopped pecans. Mensa candidate I am NOT

Tonight I am working on my Christmas cards.  I received my first one today and since I have little to no energy I figured this was the best way to accomplish something on my list while still sitting on my bum.  Speaking of sitting on my bum, I haven’t run in a few days – yikes!  My eating habits have also been sub-par.  The biggest problem has been my lack of water consumption.  Not sure what is going on with me but today I have tried to turn it around.  It’s just a balancing act – this food-ish season, crazy work and the numerous other things on my plate.  OH!  Check out my no longer naked mantel!

It's not finished yet but definitely better than it was

I’m working on lowering my expectations of myself during the holiday season.  They are completely unrealistic to say the least.  For instance, originally, I was going to make three kinds of cookies for the exchange.  One kind was going to be sugar cookies with royal icing – a huge project.  I think what I really want is to enjoy the season!  Yes, it is stressful.  Yes, there is a lot to do.  Yes, time is running short.  But I also want to relish all the hectic-ness not loathe it!  Wish me luck!

One Response to “Make these snickerdoodles soon!”

  1. Cortez Sites January 11, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    Its wonderful as your other articles : D, thankyou for posting . “The real hero is always a hero by mistake he dreams of being an honest coward like everybody else.” by Umberto Eco.

Leave a Reply

