valentine’s day…

8 Feb

Ugh… woke up today still feeling grumpy but also feeling totally under the weather :(  Actually, I woke up at 4 am feeling terrible but hoped a couple more hours of sleep would make me feel better.  No such luck.  Same thing with the crabbiness.  I know, I am a real joy to be around.

So, I hung out with my cat – he was very happy to have a snuggle buddy all day.  Although, he has since left my side and I am guessing it’s because I still haven’t showered today.  Apparently, Simon has fairly high standards!  I also spent a good chunk of time on pinterest.  It’s addicting – like peanut butter and chocolate addicting.  I.just.want.to.pin.all.day.long!  I’m hoping that I actually make some of the projects that I have pinned someday – to me that would be real achievement!

I want to make these

And this

Then I would really, really like to make this, this and this!

Being on pinterest for large amounts of time also means seeing A LOT of Valentine’s Day projects.  Here’s the deal: I love Valentine’s Day!  I really do!  It was always a big deal when I was younger and I still think it’s a neato holiday.  Of course, as I have gotten older, the concept of Valentine’s Day has changed for me.  Where I used to think it was a sweet holiday now it has become THE holiday that seems to drive home my single-ness.  In fact, a couple of weeks ago I couldn’t figure out why the obnoxious jewelry commercials were back and then it dawned on me

I think these things taste terrible!

VALENTINE’S DAY WAS COMING!

I’ve had some shoddy Valentine’s Days in the last few years.  A few years back my boyfriend at the time told me I looked like a hooker after griping the whole night about how he hated the night, didn’t want to be out, blah, blah.  I was wearing my favorite red dress and I was bummed/hurt about all of it.  Another time, my big crush (also a friend) and I got in a huge fight – it wasn’t pretty.  Then other Valentine’s, I have just spent on my own, which can feel very depressing when you put as much weight on the holiday as I did.

I really started thinking this year would be the same.  I would get all mopey because I was on my own and I would start making really bad and bitter jokes about Valentine’s Day and how much it sucked.  But I’ve been doing some thinking… I want to embrace Valentine’s for the true meaning it has for me.  Yay LOVE!  All kinds of love – the love I have for my family, my friends, my staff.  I know I sound like an after school special but bitter doesn’t look very good on me and I like hearts – A LOT! :)

I also like x's and o's :)

Yep, I’m going to make some Valentine’s treats.  I’ll probably even buy Valentine’s and send those out too, haha!  I want to make some Valentine’s decorations as well.  But most of all, I am going to enjoy the holiday and celebrate the love that is IN my life not lament the love that isn’t.

Sound like a good plan?  I thought so!  I’ll be sure to post some pics along the way!

 

One Response to “valentine’s day…”

  1. Kara February 8, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Celebrating the love you have is the only way to celebrate Valentine’s in my opinion!!! Good for you!!! Can’t wait to celebrate with you. P.S. Birthday?????

Leave a Reply

