so sweet potatoes and mind games

18 Feb

It was a long and exhausting week… The last two weeks have been an emotional roller coaster for me.  Part of me has been so frustrated that I can’t pull myself out of this “funk” and the other part realizes that considering everything that has happened in my life lately, I’m doing pretty darn good.  On Thursday, I really felt like I had reached a new low though. It wasn’t anything particular that happened but I was glum.  At this point, I knew I needed to start pulling myself out of this hole.  I put a call into my doctor and have an appointment on Monday.

But I really didn’t feel like going out last night.  I had an invite to what undoubtedly was a fun shindig but pajama pants and a date with this guy were all I could handle

doesn't he look thrilled to be spending the eve with me? I'm very entertaining company

However, yesterday I actually went for a run!  I am so very happy I made it off the couch and it really did take every ounce of willpower to get out the door.  The good part was I managed 4.09 miles in 43.50.  Not really the fastest pace ever but miles 1,3,4 were all under 10:30 pace.  Mile 2 includes “fitness hill” which I am still unable to run up completely.  Considering I haven’t run in a week and a half, I was proud of myself.  I was definitely pushing it, which also felt good.  I think I have been wussing out lately (beyond just not getting out the door) during my runs so I was pleased that I could do more than I thought.

Part of my inspiration came from this post and this post from Hungry Runner Girl.  She talks about how we play mind games with ourselves and how we are much more capable than we think in terms of exercise and performance.  I know I don’t believe in myself enough.  I don’t give myself credit for the training I have accomplished or believe that I am indeed an athlete!  So yesterday, I decided to prove some of these things to myself!  (Btw, HRG is an AMAZING runner (!) and a super sweet person!  Check her stuff out!)

Tomorrow I have a 5 or 6 mile run planned with my friend, Emily.  We are going to hit a relatively flat trail, which will be nice considering my usual route is filled with hills.  Sometimes it’s nice to feel like you are making progress, even if it is kind of falsely acquired.

Today, I have been buzzing around my apartment, running errands and baking.  I made some mouth-watering banana bread (recipe tomorrow) and my absolutely favorite, “So Sweet Potatoes”.

with their powers combined, these ingredients are fab!

A co-worker first gave me this recipe on Thanksgiving a few years ago – her family has it every year.  At first I kind of snubbed my nose at it, I have never been a fan of sweet potatoes in casserole form.  Then I took a bite.  It was all over.  Now I make it once or twice a month and top it with a bit of lite cool whip and oh man, is it GOOD!  Plus, the sweet potatoes are super nutritious right?!

here it is! All baked up with some brown sugar, nutty topping!

While I was cleaning today, I came across a Whole Living magazine (Jan/Feb 12 edition) I borrowed from my office.  There was an entire article on willpower, which as I have lamented about lately, has been a real problem for me.  The article was really interesting in that it pointed out that willpower is like any other muscle that needs to be exercised.  It is also possible to completely tire your willpower out!  This definitely made me feel less like a total loser.  While I didn’t make it out the door to run until Friday, I was very productive all week at work.  It’s nice to know I actually had willpower and it went somewhere!  As mentioned, willpower can be exercised and built up by slowly challenging it more and more.  Again, this gave me hope.  I know I have the willpower and motivation in me to run regularly, feel good about myself and be healthy but since this was the first to go during crisis, I need to build back up to it.  The article had a lot more information to it so I highly recommend looking at it.  I definitely paraphrased ;)

Looking forward to recapping my run tomorrow!  Here is the recipe… you should make this very soon!

So Sweet Potatoes

2 cans (14 oz-ish) sweet potatoes – drained     1/2 cup sugar     1/2 tsp salt     2 eggs

1/2 stick of butter     1 tsp vanilla

Mix this all together and put in an 8×8 pan sprayed with non-stick spray

topping:

1/2 stick of butter     1 cup brown sugar     1/3 cup flour     1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix this all together and sprinkle on top of the sweet potato mixture

Bake at 350* for 35-45 mins

***I use light butter or margarine as I think it tastes better than with butter and this recipe can be doubled and put in a 9×13 pan

Leave a Reply

