a long run & other business

19 Feb

This morning I popped out of bed at 9:15 am – I had 45 mins to get ready, eat a lil’ pre-run breaky and then meet my friend at the Kal-Haven trail for a run.  “Popped” might be a bit of an exaggeration since last night my neighbors woke me up no less than 4 times.  Oh yes, 12:45 am, 1:30 am, 2:30 am and finally my favorite, 3:30 am.  To say I was frustrated is an understatement.  But I didn’t want to be late and didn’t have enough time to think about how running 6 miles might be a bit more than I was ready for.

chilly!

How do I dress for this?!  My brother’s girlfriend, Sabrina is from France/Cambodia and she said she didn’t understand why we have the actual temperature and then have “feels like”.  Both my sister and I laughed about this too as it really is a pain!  It was cool this morning for sure and it took awhile to warm up along the trail.  I am fairly certain we ran 6 miles.  This was a tough run for me – fitness-wise, I was not ready for 6.  I had to stop a few times to walk for a minute or take a breather.  Part of me felt discouraged by this but then I noticed that we did it in about an hour and five minutes(?) so I think we had a decent pace.  My garmin refused to find a satellite (soo frustrating!) so I don’t have the exact numbers but at least I made it out there.  Seriously, could I have picked a better day for a long run?

Kal-Haven Trail

Wasn’t it a beautiful morning?  I didn’t use any filters on this either so this is the real deal!

Lately, I have been playing the “I used to” game a lot.  I used to be thinner, I used to be faster, I used to have more endurance, I used to have more motivation, I used to run at least 4 days a week, I used to be able to knock out four miles like it was my job.  These “used to” games are very detrimental to achieving success!  Not to mention, they totally beat me down when I should be proud of myself for starting again; especially when I KNOW what kind of pain and soreness are waiting for me ;)  In some ways, I think I am healthier.  I no longer let my weight determine my mood for the day, I really do know what I am capable of and I eat better/more.  In order to sustain my old weight I had to eat very little and then always felt bad when I splurged.  This is no longer the case and while I want to lose a few pounds, I am not interested in going back to freaking out about food!  That being said, check out these beauties!

so yummy and so easy! recipe below :)

I gave one loaf away and will give some of the other one to friends.  This banana bread recipe is really easy and so tasty! I also rewarded myself for actually finishing the run this morning (as opposed to laying on the trail and hoping a team of mice would take me to my car.  Hey – it would happen in a Disney movie!) with this gem

iced caramel mocha nonfat with whip cream? yes, please!

I’m not sure how or why this drink has stolen my heart but it has.  I make my own on most days and only let myself buy a coffee drink once or twice a week.  It doesn’t fare too terribly in calories against my homemade ones either.  Speaking of which, I switched to unsweetened vanilla almond milk a few months ago but suddenly it is gone from all of the shelves at grocery stores.  WHY?!  Unsweetened has 40 calories per cup as opposed to the 90 calories that the regular business has.  Where have you gone Almond Breeze???

I want the unsweetened kind Almond Breeze! C'mon!

But I have jumped on the greek yogurt bandwagon.  I wasn’t sure what all the fuss was about but I bought the Dannon version the other day and I really enjoyed it!  I can almost make believe it’s an ice cream or something (I said almost!)!  I also really like that it’s filling and works as an afternoon snack quite nicely

do you like my microwave as a background? my bro would be so proud!

I have yet to try some of the more popular brands but right now this is what my budget likes :)

The other night I read this really horrible article about secret ingredients in common foods we buy at the grocery store.  I almost threw up about 3 times and now I am paranoid concerning what is hidden in my food.  I mean, it almost makes me want to move to a shack in the woods and become a modern-day pioneer.  Buuut, I do like a good hot shower, Target and oh yeah, that tasty aforementioned coffee drink – DAMN!  But that doesn’t mean I have to eat people hair (I’m not lying) or other junk right?  I’ve copied the article here but part of me wishes I still lived in a magic bubble of ignorance.  So, if you read it, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

REALLY gross article!

Now, I’m reading labels like it’s nobodies business but I don’t see the nasty things listed.  Phewww!  UNLESS, what if they don’t have to list it?!  AAKKK!  Yes, I’m still freaking out a bit!

Tonight I am making delish mexican dish – recipe and pics to follow.  Until then here is the Banana Bread recipe!

Banana Bread – from Stephanie Ashcraft‘s “101 Things to do with a Cake Mix

2 bananas, mashed

1 banana cake mix

1 small box of banana instant pudding

3 eggs

1/4 cup of applesauce (I use unsweetened)

1/4 cup of vegetable oil

1/2 cup of water

3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon

3/4 finely chopped nuts – I have never added

preheat oven to 350*

Blend all ingredients together until smooth.  Fill greased (and grease those suckers REALLY well!) bread pans 3/4 full.  Bake for about 30-45 mins or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

I also sprinkle some raw sugar along the top before putting it into the oven

eat!

 

 

4 Responses to “a long run & other business”

  1. Kara February 20, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Good for you for getting out there, getting a nice run in and having a positive attitude!!! You go girl! :)

  2. EB February 20, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Michiganders have an “actual” and “feels like” temp for just about everything :). Great run yesterday!

  3. Meagan February 20, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Amy! You ROCK! No “used to” about that. Well— er, I mean– you used to rock too…. but, you definitely still do rock! Does that even make sense?!?! What I’m trying to say is that you CURRENTLY rock so remember that when you’re playing these “used to” games w/ yourself. You are amazing and I love the crap outta ya!

Leave a Reply

