pancakes make everything better

10 Mar

Last night I fell asleep on the couch and when I woke up in the middle of the night, I didn’t feel like walking the 10 steps to my bed.  Laziness at it’s finest folks!  So, when I finally woke up this morning I was crabby because a) I didn’t sleep well and b) I had weird dreams.  I dreamt about one of the guys I used to date and I was SO MAD at him in my sleep that when I woke up in the morning I was ready to rumble.  I started firing off a text because in my hazy-just-woke-up-ness, I thought it was all true.  Haha, thankfully, I realized it was a dream, deleted the text prior to sending it (thank goodness!  mild psycho-ness averted!) and tried to snap out of my crap-tastic mood.  First up?  Pancakes.

this is the second batch and they turned out much better than the first

I have been craving pancakes for about a week but was trying to be healthy and didn’t make them.  I looked online for a moderately healthy version and found this recipe at Skinnytaste.com  If you have never visited this site but want some healthy meals I suggest checking her out!  She lists Weight Watchers points and other nutritional stats so whatever type of healthy living plan you are following, her recipes fit.  Here is the recipe!

Whole Wheat Pancakes – makes 14 pancakes

2 cups whole wheat flour (I used white whole wheat)

4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

2 teaspoons sugar

2 large eggs

2 cups + 2 tablespoons nonfat milk (I used 1%)

2 teaspoons vanilla

cooking spray

mix all of the dry ingredients in a bowl and then add the wet ingredients.  Mix together but don’t over-mix!  Then cook away!

*I suggest lightly beating the egg before adding it but this was just me.

mmmm, pretty tasty!

These were the leftovers since I DEVOURED the first plate!  As I mentioned, this batch turned out better than the first two I cooked.  I strongly suggest letting the batter sit for about 10 minutes before you pour it onto your skillet/griddle.  My first two pancakes were a bit thin since I poured them on immediately following mixing the batter.  But after the batter sat (while the first were cooking) they were fairly fluffy.  I also found with the cinnamon I didn’t need a terrible amount of syrup.  And I love syrup.  Oh!  I also halved this recipe and came out with 7 or 8 pancakes.  I put the leftovers in the fridge and am going to try heating them up tomorrow.

The rest of the afternoon was lazy.  I started not feeling so hot and poor Simon didn’t seem to be feeling well either.  He threw up but I managed to just wish I had!

poor lil' sicky! simon gets more snuggly when he doesn't feel well

I was supposed to run today but I had the shakes and wasn’t sure I could make it.  I drank more water, thought maybe I was hungry and ate a Luna bar – s’more flavor, super delish, but still didn’t feel great.  Finally, at 5:55 pm I decided to suck it up and put on my running clothes.  I had been reading the blog Sweat Once a Day and the author is incredible.  Her name is Emily and she is hardcore.  I have figured out if I want some motivation I read her archives and I get off my hiney.  Today it worked.

I headed outside and it was still windy – boo.  My garmin was refusing to cooperate at first and then almost immediately I felt it was going to be a horrible run.  My legs were like granite and I was huffing and puffing in such a pretty and lady-like fashion!  I walked a bit of “fitness hill” and then started running again.  And just kept running.  At mile 3.65 I paused to turn around and to strip off some of my over-bundling.  It was at this point I realized I still felt crappy but running was at least keeping my mind focused on other areas of pain ;)  I also sort of zoned out and ran 6.39 miles in 1:11.  I know, not super speedy but I was happy I finished and didn’t totally feel like death.  My time included walking up the hill, pausing at a few lights and shedding layers.

I still can’t believe how much my head gets in the way of me running further or faster or better!  Tonight I was convinced I couldn’t keep going and was going to wimp out at 2.5 miles.  I put those negative thoughts aside and focused on my stride.  In fact, I don’t even remember hearing a few songs on my ipod!  I am so happy I kept going because I realized yesterday I have the Kal-Haven Trail Run relay in 2 SHORT WEEKS!  Great scott!  The trail is 33.5 miles and I am not sure if we have a relay of 4 or 5 but if it’s 4 I have about 8.25 miles in the VERY near future!  I’ll make it – hopefully, my teammates won’t be too crushed when I cruise those miles at about a 10:15 or 10:30 pace.  I know part of my slowness today was because I sat around prior to running.  Tomorrow I might attempt a shorter tempo run in the morning and if I am successful than McDonald’s coffee it is!

I love it when motivation is so tasty

Leave a Reply

