living the sweat pink dream and a treat

15 Apr

I’m having a craptiastic day.  At first, I was going to write about how I sincerely cannot stop eating this weekend.  Blame it on hormones, blame it on emotions or blame it on me just being lame – there are a number of possibilities at this point!  However, I will lament about these on another day (most likely tomorrow, yay! something to look forward to!  A whiny post by your’s truly!)  Instead, I have decided to suck it up and write about something different.

Yesterday, one of my former staff members came by.  He is getting ready to make some big life decisions… go to grad school?  Which grad school?  Defer?  He got into a really tough and prestigious program and he said he was not sure what to do.  I asked him why not?  It’s EVERYTHING he has worked for as an undergrad.  It’s also a major stepping stone for his future.  So, in reality, I may have yelled, “WHY NOT!”  His answer?  “What if I fail?”

Alright, I am very familiar with this sentiment.  You know the dreams that live inside you, so deep that it takes you a little while to even admit them?  This is how I feel about being an author.  I have wanted to be a writer since first grade.  It is DAMN scary when aspects of your dream start coming true!  Haha, when Fit Approach asked me to be a Sweat Pink Ambassador I was SO excited but also incredibly nervous!  What if I failed?  What if my writing/story wasn’t good enough?!

Yesterday I told my staff member that it’s okay to be scared.  It’s okay to admit it out loud because then when you finally do jump in with both feet, you get to look back and say, “I’m brave!”  Getting to admit you are brave is so worth having to admit you are scared in the first place!  When he left, I turned around and gave myself the same pep talk.  I am awesome at giving others advice but I forget to hear it myself at times.

Well, if you have made it this far, then congrats!  I know I can get a bit wordy but I do believe it’s important to recognize our goals and dreams are not easy to achieve.  We have to sacrifice a lot, endure ups and downs and then take huge risks to make them come true.  We SHOULD be scared!

Want to meet some of the other Sweat Pink Ambassadors?!  One of the others, Lori has set up a blog hop!  Click on the laces below and you can check them out!

Beyond pep-talking my staff member and myself into believing we can take on the world, I also made an old family recipe yesterday.  Kidney Bean Salad – yum!  It always brings back so many memories of hanging out in my Grandma’s kitchen.  Kidney bean salad was kind of special occasion salad and if memory serves my mom, grandma and I were the ones who really loved it.  This always makes me smile – maybe our tastes are linked genetically?!

even made it in the same kind of bowl my grandma used to :)

Here is an oldie but goodie and a peek at my grandma’s old kitchen

we were devouring some cool whip! that kitchen was my 2nd home

Here is the recipe for Kidney Bean salad!

1 can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed

2 eggs hardboiled

2 (or 3) stalks of celery, chopped

1/4 of a head of lettuce, chopped

3 sweet pickles, chopped (I just cut up a bunch of bread and butter pickles)

1/4 cup of mayo

See?  Very easy!  I usually add a little bit of pickle juice and found some mayo that has an olive oil base so it’s supposed to be healthier (?!).  I also found bread and butter pickles that are sugar-free – another bonus in the health department.

My last little tidbit to share with you?  Friday I knocked out a five miler.  Before I left, I wanted a bit of a kick but thought I was all out of shot bloks.  Then after digging through my purse, I found this

there was one lonely blok left!

Yay!  Of course, it was kind of old and there was some lint stuck to it but hey, it got the job done!  I’m a classy lady ;)

2 Responses to “living the sweat pink dream and a treat”

  1. evafitness April 16, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    What an amazing post and I feel like I read it at a perfect time for me funny enough. That’s such a meaningful pep talk. I love that you said “you get to look back and say ‘I’m brave'”. Glad to be an ambassador with you :) Look forward to reading more of your blog. Have a fab week!

  2. Life After Swimming April 16, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    You are DEFINITELY good enough for sweat pink!!! I always limit myself because of failure…gah! What an annoying thing to do! You’ve inspired me to push myself and try to test my limits!

Leave a Reply

