future trip home!

1 May

Have you heard the best time to buy a plane ticket is on Tuesdays at 3 pm?  I didn’t quite make the the 3 pm deadline but I did get my ticket today to go back and visit my family in Port Angeles, WA!  I didn’t even have to sell a kidney in order to afford it!

here is an awesome pic of Port Angeles (nope, didn't take it - click on it for credit!)

Port Angeles is on the Strait of Juan de Fuca (yes, I have always LOVED to say this!) and it’s about 3 hours northwest of Seattle, WA.  One of the slogans is, “Where the Mountains meet the Sea” since the town is nestled in the Olympic Mountains.  I’m not going to lie, this is one of the prettiest places in the U.S.  If you ever get a chance, come out and visit!

yes, this is a real tree - we grow 'em big out there!

Not only will I be spending some much needed time with my family, I will be running a half marathon.  My family has never seen me run a race and I am really excited to do with this race with them in attendance.  All of this fun business will be taking place in July.  This is where I am hoping for a 1/2 PR – sub 2 hours!!

chocolate? champagne? running? AWESOME!

Today I also realized I am going to have one heck of a busy summer!  I mentioned the waves of panic that swept over me the other night and I figured out today the only way to avoid this is to GET ORGANIZED.  Now, classic organization isn’t one of my strengths – I definitely have my own style.  This style needs to be tightened up a bit or else I am going to flounder!  So I started, “The MONSTER To-Do List” today.  It has the fun things I want to do and the mundane things I have to do.  Luckily, I also have mega-organized friends who have offered to help – thanks friends, you da bomb!  Once I have more of the fun stuff on there, I’ll put the list on here.  I am determined to have a FUN summer!

Oh yeah, and can I just say how MAD I am at Dairy Queen for introducing this?!

noooo!! why would you do this DQ?! some of us have training plans to stick to you!

My hips, thighs and bum hate you Dairy Queen… and kind of love you at the same time.  If you can’t tell from the pic, its funfetti cake and blizzard.  YUM!

Don’t forget!  You have until tomorrow at 5 pm to enter my give-away!

15 Responses to “future trip home!”

  1. Meagan @ Managing Meagan May 1, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Funfetti blizzard??? Sign me up!!!!!!

    And you KNOW you can sign me up for the organization party! I looooove me some organizing!

    Yay for the trip home! :) So happy this worked out!!

  2. Laura @ LauraLivesLife May 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    I hope that blizzard ISN’T Gluten-free so I can’t eat it – I have a sneaking suspicion I’d never get enough! I love funfetti anything!

    I’m not from Port Angeles, but I think it’s so beautiful there – perfect weather! Glad you’re heaidng home!

  3. Lisa Jameson May 1, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    I knew tuesdays were the best to purchase a flight, but I never knew about the 3pm rule… how to they work it out with time zone differences? (or was the 3pm a joke?) ‘

    This summer I’m making my first ever trip out to Washington (seattle)- i hear amazing things about the state, so i’m already getting excited for it!

    • amysrecipefordisaster May 1, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      Maybe it’s 3 pm and after? Truth be told, I didn’t think about the time zone, which I should have since back when I wasn’t on EST, it used to drive me nuts the whole world automatically thought we were!
      Seattle is fantastic! You will really enjoy it!

  4. EB May 1, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Happy to hear you bought your ticket! OMG that blizzard looks amazing. Ice cream date instead of drinks?!

  5. Lauren Q @ Duck on the Run May 1, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Don’t you know that ice cream helps you run faster? That’s what I heard, at least. And I’m following that training tip every day! LOL

    • amysrecipefordisaster May 1, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

      haha – YAY!!! :)

      • Jan Scott (@janscott75) May 1, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

        I love the northwest…so pretty! I haven’t been to Port Angeles, but I’ve been to Seattle, Whidbey Island, and the San Juan Islands, and it’s one of my very favorite areas! Woohoo for a great price on a ticket!

  6. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts May 2, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    I’ve been to hardly anywhere in the US, but I have been to Seattle and I loved it. I’m really keen to see more of that part of your country. And I love trees, so the bigger the better!

  7. Meghan Rene May 2, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    YUM!!! I realized yesterday when I got another invite that my weekends in the summer are already booked up! Between races, weddings, showers and bachelorette parties it is too much to handle!

    I’m convinced ice cream/fro yo is all I need to become a better runner :)

  8. Tasha @ Healthy Diva May 2, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Port Angeles is beautiful! Have fun at home. I saw someone post a pic of that blizzard on FB yesterday, I was drooling!

  9. Life After Swimming May 2, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    I already have plans to get just that at DQ today! :) It’s a MUCH needed ice cream day!

  10. Megan@ runlikeagrl May 3, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Isn’t Port Angeles in the Twilight books? Haha I think I remember that. Looks beautiful!

    PS. I WISH there was a DQ near me, its soo good! Every time I’m on the road and see one I have to stop since I never get to have it.

    • amysrecipefordisaster May 3, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      haha, yes! My little town and Forks (right next to PA) has gotten quite a bit of attention :) It’s pretty fun to see people posing for pics near the “welcome to Port Angeles” sign!

Leave a Reply

