1st running and reading long post

10 May

Today is the first “posting” day of Running and Reading Long!  As I have mentioned, I will be posting about this program each Thursday.  This Thursday I’ll be talking about some of the basics of the program and how this first week of training has gone.  Of course, since I can never do anything ‘normally’ this week has been a bit off – I’ve had to do some tapering for the 25k on Saturday.

The plan I am essentially going to be following is a Half Marathon training plan provided by Laura.  I tried posting it but had some trouble; I’ll try again.  Here is the deal –  I am not very good at following running plans (okay, most plans in general).  This is one of the reasons I wanted to do this program to see what I can accomplish with solid training.  I am training for this race

this is my goal race

It’s also the first race my family will ever see me run so I really want to do well.  It’s not quite the full 13 weeks away like the program but as I mentioned I am not always very good at following plans!

The plan started this past Monday and I was still pretty sore from the 12.5 miles on Sunday.  I didn’t end up running until yesterday, which means I missed some of the planned workouts.  I am not happy with myself for already messing with the schedule – this is the habit I am trying to break.  Nevertheless, I busted out 5 miles yesterday and then walked one mile home.  These 5 miles were AMAZING!  Wow!  I haven’t felt that great on a run in a long time.  I felt strong, kept a decent pace and I really listened to my body.  At one point, I was wondering if I could do 6 or 7 then I remembered the whole “taper” thing and knew 5 was the right decision.

haha, can you keep up with my running mood swings?!

Next week… I feel confident I can get back on schedule once the race is finished this weekend.  Since part of me knows I am not going to run super well this weekend, I have weird feelings about it.  I can’t really explain it but I’m looking forward to running some hills and doing some speed work next week.  I actually want to stick to a plan that actually might help me succeed!  The ONLY change I am considering is what’s supposed to be a walk day, I might turn into a run day and then stick to the other run hills/speed/long days.  I might run during this walk day only because I enjoy it.  We’ll see… again, I want to listen to my body.

I have also started the first book we are reading, Kara Goucher’s Running for Women:  From First Steps to Marathons.  Honestly, I haven’t gotten too far – it has been a NUTTY week for work and my books just came in the mail.  So, I’ll have to report more on that next week :)

Last, I want to leave you with the following quote:

“In order to attain the impossible, one must attempt the absurd.” – Miguel de Cervantes

It’s been on my computer for months now and I look at it everyday.  It just helps to keep pushing me forward, even when it feels like I am too tired, too sore and too lazy!  Hope it helps you, too!

8 Responses to “1st running and reading long post”

  1. Jan Scott (@janscott75) May 10, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Haha that mood swing thing makes me laugh! Good luck w/ the program! Looking forward to getting to know you better!

  2. Meghan Rene May 11, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Um is that a shirt? And where can I get it??

  3. Life After Swimming May 11, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Hahah I totally feel that way! I love running but I hate when it makes me hurt! Like now! GRRR

  4. Megan@ Run Like a Grl May 11, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    I want that as a shirt! It is incredibly accurate and reflects my true feelings about running haha. Love it.

  5. Laura May 12, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I hope your run goes well – and I’m excited to see how training goes for you! That race is perfect to train for!

  6. teresa May 12, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    I love that quote so much! It’s just what I needed to read as I’m feeling a bit ridiculous even attempting to train for running. Can’t wait to get into it and hear about everyone else.

  7. katiemoves May 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    as everyone else has said, i love that shirt- my true feelings exactly!

  8. ballerinamama May 15, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    I’m with you about following plans either. I usually go with whatever I happen to be in the mood for so it will be interesting to actually follow any sort of schedule. :) Glad to be able to get to know you!

Leave a Reply

