running and reading long – week 2

18 May

Yikes!  This post is LATE!  My apologies!  Yesterday just got away from me and then I had a wretched headache off and on all day.

It’s the second week of the Running and Reading Long program and we are currently reading Kara Goucher’s book, “Running for Women”.  When I first learned we would be reading this book, I was a little unsure.  I mean, what could I possibly have in common with an elite runner?!

Turns out, this book is great!  I am about half way through it currently and I have really enjoyed it.

First of all, Kara’s passion for running comes through in her writing.  She gets excited to tell her story and this gets me (and hopefully other readers) excited as well.  She also makes running sound easy and certainly something everyone can do.  I wholeheartedly believe this.  I can’t tell you how often people tell me, “I could never run”.  Since this used to be me, I feel yes, you can run but it does take some time and dedication.

running is super great!  it even gives me crazy eyes!

I also have really identified with Kara’s getting back to running basics in the initial part of the book.  This has been of goal of mine lately and it was nice to read that elite runners go through slumps as well.  It somehow made my slump feel more valid and normal.  I have a horrible tendency to feel like no one ever goes through negative things with running except me.

I was wondering if I would EVER have a good run again

Kara also talked about “mental training”.  I can’t tell you how often I have thought “oh that runner is so much faster, better, blah, blah than me – I could never be like that”.  Now, I am not saying that all levels of running are within my grasp but certain levels are within reach.  I need to work on my mental toughness for sure.  In races I have this extreme mentality, which is great but it doesn’t always carry over to training.  This is definitely something I want to work on as much as the physical training.

I also felt the injury section was important.  I’ve spent some time on the sidelines due to injuries and feel this info is just too important to ignore.

One aspect of the book that took me a bit by surprise was it started out saying how running is for everyone but it does get into details of training and running that seem more than what the beginner runner might be ready for.  I guess if you are reading this book then you are looking to go the next level in running but it starts out as a book for beginners and then quickly moves beyond this.  Just something to be aware of…

This week has been interesting for me training-wise.  I did the 25k on Saturday and sat on my bum on Sunday.  Oh yeah, I was beat!  On Monday evening I went for a 4 mile walk and tried to run a bit in the middle.  Umm… no, this was not happening.  On Tuesday, I thought, “its a RUN day!”  Yep, not so much – 3 miles of walking later… Wednesday I decided to just take off.  Then yesterday – yay!  Great run day!  I did a tempo 3.7 miles run and while my legs were tired it felt good.  I was/am a bit concerned about how long it took my legs to recover from the race.  When I get into longer milage for the marathon training, how do I combat this aspect?  Ice baths?  Yikes, those soo do not sound appealing!  I guess more milage during the week?  I’ll take any advice!

run freeeeeeee! I love this pic – this was how I felt yesterday!

So load me up with advice people!  I would love to hear it!

4 Responses to “running and reading long – week 2”

  1. kmhoho May 18, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    I think the honest solution to less recovery is just more running. The more you run consistently and longer the easier it’ll be to recover and the longer and faster you’ll be able to run. I think that’s good news for you! The closer you get to your marathon essentially the easier it’ll be to run one. So keep up your training!!!!! :)

  2. Jan Scott (@janscott75) May 20, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Sounds like you are doing great! I love the book as well. It definitely does make you feel like getting out there. I love that she says that she wakes up tired and goes to bed tired….elite runners make it look so easy, but glad to hear they’re putting in some serious work!

  3. Life After Swimming May 22, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    Mental training is the hardest part for me! I always psych myself out in swimming (and running, too!)

Leave a Reply

