healthier eating

20 May

I am completely procrastinating at the moment.  I wasn’t feeling well on Friday so I called in sick.  Of course, I had two very large projects that MUST be finished before Monday which means some time in the office… TODAY… and I’m having trouble getting my bum in there!  Yay for writing a blog post instead! :)

Last Sunday I had one of the worst cases of “long run hunger” I could remember.  I ate everything.  I recognize this is fairly normal but this was kind of extreme.  At 10:30 pm I was craving chocolate and cake and I caved.  I made “mug chocolate cake“.  There are a number of recipes online and it actually works!

yep, this is a pretty big piece of cake… I added frosting too of course…

The next day I woke up bloated and feeling like I had gained 15 lbs.  It was unpleasant.  I got on the scale.  I didn’t gain 15 lbs but the numbers weren’t very happy either.  I decided I needed to get back on track with my eating.  The fact is, my healthy eating habits have been a bit dodgy for a little while now and I am done with it.  I downloaded the app “Myfitnesspal” (this is the website but I just use the phone app) and put in the numbers*.

Let me first say, I am in no way planning on trying to starve myself.  If I have had a really hard run and I am still hungry then I am going to eat something.  I am listening to my body.  I also refuse to deny myself going out with friends or celebrating a special occasion because it doesn’t fit into my calorie counting ways.  That being said, I certainly don’t need to indulge as often as I have been.

Alright, disclaimer out of the way… first things first I went to the store and loaded up on fruits and veggies

hello watermelon – I have missed you!

I love me some good melon!

yay! corn on the cobb season!!

The first week hasn’t been easy.  But again, part of my (not so hot) eating habits include enjoying being full and night snacking.  Tracking my calories doesn’t allow for either of these, especially at my height.  In order to lose a little weight (which I am just looking for a slightly leaner self) I am allotted a certain number of calories per day.  It isn’t a lot by any means!  Working out “earns” more calories so this is also a great incentive to get off the couch and do something everyday.  What I appreciate about this method is it helps create lifestyle changes (read new and better habits!), not dramatic weight loss.  Sure, it would be nice to lose the 10 lbs super fast but I know this isn’t healthy or lasting.  Thankfully, I haven’t been hungry-hungry but I have missed snacking on something or the obligatory piece pieces of chocolate when I am stressed.

Wednesday was a anxiety-ridden day at work and all I wanted was SUGAR!  I have noticed I turn to sugar when I am fretting so Wednesday I had a “fun-sized” Snickers but that was all.  It helped.  What I found though was it also helped I didn’t eat 8 of these!  How is this possible?  Over-indulging doesn’t make you feel better in the end?! ;)

just a wee bit of emotional stability!

I have also been pretty lazy when it comes to cooking for myself over the last 6 months or so.  This isn’t very conducive to healthy eating – when I don’t actually make a meal, I end up nickel and dime-ing my calories away and eating way more than I had ever intended simply because I convince myself just a little bit here and there really doesn’t add up.  Umm… it DOES!  On my grocery store excursion, I also picked up some staples for actual meals – healthy ones at that.

Like I said, the first week hasn’t been easy.  All of a sudden I have cravings for foods I typically wouldn’t really be thinking about

haha, alright so I have been thinking about this! I will also be getting one more of these tasty treats before the month ends – priorities people!!

Even though it hasn’t been easy, I have realized I was eating much larger portions than necessary, a lot of sugar and just empty calories because I was either bored, thirsty or stressed.  I’m happy I am putting effort into changing this.  I am happy I’ve lost some water weight and don’t feel so puffy.  But most of all, I am happy I am re-embracing some healthier eating because I do, in fact, feel so much better.

My Sweat Pink Ambassador sisters also gave me some GREAT advice about how to curb long run hunger so I will be writing a post about this as well.  I don’t know anyone who likes “train gain” so hopefully their advice will help us all!

*one more disclaimer – counting calories works for me and I have used this method in the past to lose weight responsibly.  My doctors are also aware!  I am in no way a professional when it comes to nutrition so please seek out medical advice before jumping into a weight loss program!

3 Responses to “healthier eating”

  1. Megan@ Run Like a Grl May 20, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    I had a similar situation after my half yesterday. I was STARVING! I guess my body forgot what it feels like when I run for that long but I ate so much food, I couldn’t stop. I think I ate a lot of empty calories though so that may have been the problem. Next time I have to be smarter and pay attention more! Luckily I don’t have a DQ or you know I would have been there too :)

  2. Tasha @ Healthy Diva May 21, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    Long run hunger is the worst. Usually I am not hungry at all until the next day and then I eat everything in sight. UGH!

  3. Meghan Rene May 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Ah! I am not a dieter per se – but I read “Naturally Thin” and it helped me out a lot with regards to my eating and never giving up on the not so good for you foods. Check it out :)

Leave a Reply

