giving away some “weighted” baggage

1 Jul

Happy Sunday!  I’m still in the process of moving (yes, this IS the longest move ever!) but I wanted to take a break and write this post because a) it’s 92* outside and b) I really wanted to write it!  Oh and c) I am losing steam ;)

Yesterday I was down in one of my storage rooms and I came across bins of old clothing.  I’m talking approximately 5 storage bins!  All of the clothes were from my heavier days.  I know they say don’t keep them but I did.  I was always afraid I would wake up and all 85 lbs would magically have become part of my body again.  So guess what I did?!  I GAVE THEM ALL AWAY!!  I can’t even believe it myself!  Yes, they’ve been down in storage for a number of years (7 ish?) but still I’ve always wanted to have them, “just in case.”

But not anymore.  I refuse to give myself a safety net of having a whole wardrobe in case I gain weight.  This is ridiculous.  It’s off to Good Will.  I feel it’s some of the last of my baggage from those old days of insufficient confidence, horrible body image and allowing myself to give up.  Let’s face it – giving up is a whole heck of a lot easier than fighting.  And I am going to keep fighting to stay in shape and have a healthy life!

Ahhh – I love a good self-pep talk!

only a fraction of the donations!

 

8 Responses to “giving away some “weighted” baggage”

  1. kmhoho July 1, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    good for you Amy!!!! :) so proud of you :)

  2. Jan Scott (@janscott75) July 1, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    Woohoo, way to move past it!!

  3. Linda July 1, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    You should be very proud! Way to go!

  4. Aaron July 1, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    This post was really inspiring :)

  5. Tasha @ Healthy Diva July 1, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    I used to keep my heavy clothes too, until last year. They were taking up too much room and after really looking at them I knew that I would never want to wear them again and having them around wasn’t good. Getting rid of them was a huge weight off of my shoulders. Good for you for getting rid of yours as well. :-)

  6. EB July 1, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    way to go!!!!

  7. Kari @ bitesizedthoughts July 2, 2012 at 2:20 am #

    Congratulations! What a big decision, but a really worthwhile one by the sounds of it :)

  8. Life After Swimming July 2, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    I am so proud of you! What an amazing accomplishment to be able to give it all away!

Leave a Reply

