i’m melting. seriously.

5 Jul

I wasn’t going to post tonight.  I’m feeling BEAT!  Just walking around in 103* heat is exhausting and today I finished moving.  To be fair/truthful, the last few things in my apt ended up taking me about two hours to pack and clean up but it’s empty!  Yay!

umm… this heat is ridiculous

Now for some pics of my empty old apt!

aww – kind of a sad face! this is how it looked when I moved in. I was so nervous that first day, I almost needed my brother to pull over so I could vomit!

my mom and dad redid my kitchen for my 30th birthday – sad to leave this!

But get this – I still have one more storage to go through AND to clean up/clear out my office!  Haha, oh my – I am such a hoarder!  No, I don’t belong on TLC or A & E but I did realize I’ve kept things for years for no apparent reason.  Shoe boxes?  TONS of grocery sacks?  Receipts?  Even though it has taken me a week to get moved, I’ve gone through a bunch of this and thrown it out.  I’m proud of myself!  I’ve given away a few trunk loads to Good Will(ie) and thrown out simply a crazy amount of junk.  I know it will be tough to change my habits but I am committed to shift these!

I brought Simon over on Tuesday and this was a nightmare.  Seriously, Simon had a mega-meltdown (with me having one soon after!).  It was a disaster.  I felt so badly for him since he was so confused.  Yesterday, I stuck around home so both of us could decompress.  I also found some treats that are like generic kitty prozac

he’s feeling better :)

Even though I missed the festivities yesterday, it was worth hanging out with Simon to help him adjust.  Not to mention, I was up with him until 4 am the night before so I wasn’t feeling very social.  We are both doing better today!

Oh!  I cooked my first meal here yesterday!  My stove was boxed in and I didn’t want to cook.  But I’ve been grabbing cereal or eating out the last few days and I didn’t want to do that again to my body/pocket book.  I sucked it up and organized enough to pull this off

super tasty!

Oh my gosh – so delish!  I had Trader Joe’s chicken sausage that was cured with sun-dried tomatoes, ravioli stuffed with goat cheese and sun-dried toms (also Trader Joe’s) and sauce.  Wow – I could probably eat this at least once a week!  The calorie impact wasn’t too harsh either and I have leftovers for tonight and tomorrow night.  It was also my first time using my gas stove.  It went pretty well – I forgot about the whole “fire” thing though and reached over the flame.  I singed a decent amount of arm hair off but hey, I didn’t blow my kitchen up – yay!

Well, that’s about it from me… I’m joining a gym tomorrow.  I’ve been talking about it for a while but since it’s hotter than the surface of the sun (or at least hotter than this WA native can handle), I’m going to do it.  Because I’ve got this 1/2 coming up in about a week and a half and I haven’t run recently – UH-OH!  Yeah, it’s going to be painful but I know I’ll finish it.  It’s also supposed to get hotter – 106* tomorrow?! – and it doesn’t seem to be going away.  Thankfully, I haven’t been sitting on my bum during this down time.  Moving seems to agree with me and I’ve lost a pound or two and possibly built a wee bit of muscle!  I’ll keep you posted on the official work out tomorrow – fingers crossed I don’t fly off the treadmill!

5 Responses to “i’m melting. seriously.”

  1. Jan Scott (@janscott75) July 5, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    We’re melting here, too. Ugh. Sounds like moving is a great workout!

  2. Faith Fitness and Laughter July 6, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    It is just about too hot to do anything! The chicken sausage looks amazing! :) I know that you will be so glad to get into your new place. :)

  3. Meghan Rene July 6, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    YAY to joining a gym – you’re getting there. I went through my closet this weekend and threw out everything that I haven’t worn in a year. I attempted the – I MIGHT wear this but listened to my rule. 3 bags of clothes later – I feel relieved!

  4. Stacy Dodds July 6, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Good for you for actually cooking! My place is super hot too, and I’ve been surviving on smoothies. Last night I tried BBQing a couple hot dogs, but even that was too hot!

  5. Tasha @ Healthy Diva July 6, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    I think the heat wave is headed to WA finally. Triple digits are in the 5 day forecast. I might have to lay in front of the fan all weekend with the pups to stay cool since we don’t have AC in our home. :-(

Leave a Reply

