two for one

10 Jul

Today was an awesome Monday morning (I know – WHO writes that?!  THIS GIRL!) for three reasons…

1.  When I left for work this morning, it didn’t feel like I was walking on the surface of the sun!  Yippee!

2.  I was down a pound and a half!  Yay!

3.  I am wearing pants that while I could zip a week and a half ago, it would have been fairly indecent of me to wear them :)

So those are my 3 big wins for the morning.  I’ve tried REALLY hard to stop letting the scale dictate my day and I usually do a decent job of it.  However, this weight plateau has been a pain in my arse for months now so to break through it feels fantastic!

What am I doing differently?  The main factor is my food intake/portions.  I’m an emotional eater as well as a night snacker.  These two powers combined (Captain Planet anyone?) make for nutritional fails for sure!  So, I’ve been paying closer attention to my hunger cues.  When cooking, I’m carefully reading serving sizes.  At first, I felt like there was no way that would be enough food!  Sometimes it is more than enough and other times I am still hungry.  Before I reach for something else though, I drink water and wait.  Once upon a time, I also explained how I like to feel “full”.  Right away.  I’ve been working on feeling satisfied when I am finished eating since usually after 20 minutes or so, I am full.

I thought I would still be hungry after this but I was stuffed!

Moving helped though, as it occupied large amounts of my time and also has given me a new start – mentally and emotionally.  I also have a mega-sweet tooth so I’m turning to alternative options to get my sweet fix.  Sometimes fruit, sometimes granola bars with chocolate in them at 100 calories and I am IN LOVE with the Special K Fruit Crisps (also 100 calories for 2!) – mmmm!

Last night my goal was 10 miles.  I’m pretty sure I mentioned this yesterday as well as something about not losing fitness, blah, blah, I’m so cocky…   Uhh… haha… it was TOUGH!  I actually figured it would be (deep down where denial turns to reality) so I started out slowly and simply kept on running.  I did miss my goal by 3 miles but considering I was fighting for those 7 miles, I’m calling it a win!  Not to mention, I’ve barely run in the last week and half and my body reminded me :)  I recovered in my Aspaeris pivot shorts and my lovely pink compression socks with a side of peas and corn on the knees!.  It felt good to be back out there and running though.  The first 3 miles are always the hardest for me.  Once my legs are warmed up it starts to feel a little bit easier.  Or maybe I tune out the pain – yeah, it could be that too!

compression shorts AND compression socks… I love it

Well, obviously, it’s no longer Monday – oops!  I meant to post but forgot I hadn’t pressed “publish”!  Today is pretty opposite of my happier self yesterday!  It was a stressful day at work and last night I went for a 5 mile run and it was tough.  In fact, I was running and had a some pain in my left hip and some pain in my right knee.  I iced when I got back home but still woke up this morning with a stiff and angry knee!

yeah, I didn’t seal the bag with ice and slipped off and spilled all over the floor. ice fail

I iced again this morning while at work (see above picture) and while it definitely feels better, I’m not going to run tonight.  Of course it’s PERFECT running weather this evening!  I am super tempted but also want to be able to finish my 13.1 this weekend!

On a positive note, guess what came in the mail today?!

wahooo! new sports bras!

Last week there was a rockin’ sale at Moving Comfort and I got both sports bras half off!  Usually, it’s only the “boring” colors that are on sale but I got “Bahama Blue” and “Grape Soda” – both colors I didn’t have!  Yes, I really am this excited!  But these are usually almost $60 and right now I have 2.  I also no longer have a washer and dryer so adding 2 more will help a lot.

Finally, random photo of the day:

cherry-butt :)

5 Responses to “two for one”

  1. Faith Fitness and Laughter July 10, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    I LOVE this post!! That is awesome that you had a great Monday! Right there with ya on the sweet tooth :). I have been in the market for a new sports bra :).

  2. Jan Scott (@janscott75) July 11, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    It sounds like you’re doing amazingly well and making great choices! Congrats! LOL @ the cherry butt!!

  3. Meghan Rene July 11, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    I read “Naturally Thin (or skinny?)” by Bethanny Frankel. I followed her suggestions for portions, etc. and saw such a decrease in weight on my body! I never felt famished!

    The cherry butt is funny.

  4. Tasha @ Healthy Diva July 11, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Congrats for losing some weight! It is always a good feeling when the pants aren’t so snug. I am an emotional eater too and this summer has been pretty rough on me so far. I am trying to control what I eat, but sometimes it is hard. I just got my bridesmaid dress yesterday for a wedding I am in next month. Thankfully it fits so that means I didn’t “grow” as much as I thought I had since October. It also means that I have to be really good for the next month or else it won’t fit. As MOH that would be bad if the dress didn’t fit!!!!
    I just got my first Moving Comfort bra (the Fiona) and I am obsessed with it. Best sports bra ever!

  5. Life After Swimming July 11, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Yayyy for the weight loss! That’s freaking awesome :)

Leave a Reply

