going against conventional wisdom is enticing albeit scary

4 Aug

Yesterday when I went in for my info meeting with the Kzoo CrossFit folks, we talked about the endurance program.  I explained I am training for a marathon in Oct.  The coach/trainer for the program asked me how many miles I’ve run and when I told him I had recently done a 1/2, he said “Great!”

Awesome, I thought – this is going better than I thought.

But his next sentence threw me for a loop.  He said, “if you can run 13.1 miles you can already run 26.2.  Easy.  It’s just a mental block.”

Ummm – what?!

Here is my future training plan, beginning Aug. 27th

here it is!

Sorry if this is tough to read but here is what is says:

M – work out of the day (WOD) and a run

T – WOD

W – WOD and a run

TH – WOD and a run

F – WOD

S – LR

All of the runs during the week are interval training and some of his descriptions sounded fairly intense.  It will be tough.  But get this – my LONGEST run of the whole entire training season will be 13 miles!  WHAT?????  I’m sure he could see the disbelief on my face but he told me if I trusted him then it would work.

This part is the hardest thing for me to believe.  It completely flies in the face of conventional marathon training of a 10% increase each week in mileage.  But it appeals to me too – I like to be a bit of a rebel.  It’s important not to discount the WOD’s.  We will be focusing on  A LOT of core work.  I said I wanted my overall fitness to improve and he said it would.  I will also get some gait analysis and essentially COACHING!  I was thinking about all of this and decided to commit on the spot.  Why not?  I explained I didn’t want to walk any of the marathon and he said I wouldn’t have to.  It IS a bit nerve-wracking but exciting too.

I’m also looking at transitioning to a new shoe

why are new shoes so enticing?!

 

the price point is awesome – $90 and they have some cute colors.  I am trying to figure out if I will still need actual crossfit shoes or if these will be enough.  I’m trying to make up my mind…

All in all, I’m looking forward to training – it’s with a group and I think this will help in my motivation/commitment.  More than that, I think it will be cool to meet new people all training for a similar goal!

 

Oh and last night on a late night walk, look who I saw?

pretty nifty, eh?

 

10 Responses to “going against conventional wisdom is enticing albeit scary”

  1. Sean Johnson August 4, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    You have to trust him on this, it’s totally true, if you CrossFit and can run a half, you can run a full. It’s all mental at that point and staying at your 40% pace.

  2. EB August 4, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    umm, has this guy ran a marathon before? if not, im going to go ahead and say he doesn’t know what hes talking about! but, i believe you will be super fit and improve your overall strength, etc. i just REALLY think it might be a good idea to run more than 13 before you run 26.2…. super proud of you for going and committing though! I hope it works! xoxox

  3. ~jenniferlynn August 4, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Crazy schedule, girl! I can’t imagine doing that much running on top of regular working out! Good luck!! :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster August 4, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Thanks! It’s going to be tough but I need an overall fitness reboot so I’m excited!

      • Sean Johnson August 4, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

        Amy you should send me your Endurance WODs and I’ll do them too.

  4. Jan Scott (@janscott75) August 5, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    What’s the worst that can happen–you don’t have the marathon you want and you try again? I say go for it!

  5. Tasha @ Healthy Diva August 5, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    I would be super nervous to have my longest LR only be 13 miles. My last marathon I ran 2 x 22 miles & 2 x 24 miles. The lower mileage seems to work for the Hanson’s team and Desi Davila so I am sure that you will be fine.

Leave a Reply

