a race weekend!

7 Oct

My incredible friend, Meagan is running the Chicago Marathon RIGHT NOW!  I am so thrilled for her and she is booking some serious business!

pic from this morning – she is HAULING!

This picture is from earlier and she has already crossed the half way point.  I’m sure by the time I finish this post she will be DONE!

Of course… you know what this means?!

I have ONE measly week until this bad boy!!!

Oh man, but here is the deal – I am super ready for this to be done and over with.  It sounds terrible and I know I’m going to say, “I wish this would never end!”  Okay, probably NOT when I am actually running 26.2 miles, I’m guessing I will be all kinds of ready to be done running at mile 22 but you know what I mean.  I’m nervous.  I’m excited.  I want to laugh at my delusion that I can actually do this.  Let’s just say, it’s a fairly exhausting emotional roller coaster I’m on at that moment.

Hey!  I just realized – I can stalk the weather now!  Great scott – my marathon-ADD is completely kicked in… this is going to be an interesting week!

oooo – looks like some decent weather!

Speaking of races – I ran the Campus Classic yesterday.  It was great!  I haven’t done a 5k in wee bit.  My 5k PR is 28 flat.  I haven’t managed that in a long time, maybe two years?  A year and a half?  Yesterday I pulled out a 29:36!  On a REALLY hilly course!  I had a 9:33 pace!!  This is based on my garmin – the course was long.  3.23 – c’mon folks!  This year the race course was a little different do to some construction and I think this was the reason it was long.  But that is a bit TOO long!  As I was sprinting toward the finish line, I looked down at my garmin and it said 7:55 pace – CRAZY!  I am really proud of myself.  My pace was never over 10:05 and it dipped down in the low 9’s at one point.  I still can’t believe this used to be my 1/2 marathon pace, and lower even.  It does give me hope though.  A couple of weeks ago, I did a time trial of a 5k and it was around a 10 min mile pace (maybe 10:15).

I saw this on pinterest a little while ago and it as a GREAT reminder for me.  I AM making progress!  Tracking my running has been key for me.  I like to look at where I was a few months ago to where I am now.  I always only used racing as a way to see how I was doing but what if it was a bad race?  This way I can see how I am doing on a regular basis.  Don’t get me wrong, there are days when I can FEEL that I am faster but now I actually have proof!

Happy Sunday folks!  Off for my last longish run before the marathon!

4 Responses to “a race weekend!”

  1. Tasha @ Healthy Diva October 7, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    You should see me the week before a marathon. It isn’t pretty…at all. I think the next time I run one I might stay at a hotel to save my poor hubby. :-)

  2. Meagan @ Managing Meagan October 8, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Thaaaanks!! It was crazy rough, but I did it!

    Congrats with the 5K! YOU ROCK!!

  3. gina33runnersky October 9, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Wow amazing work. Keep running.

  4. gina33runnersky October 9, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Wow ! Way to be committed. Keep running.

Leave a Reply

