4 more sleeps until the race!

10 Oct

Once upon a time there was a kid named Kevin.  When he was in either 7th or 8th grade he decided he was going to run a marathon.  He ran a few shorter races, had done the STP – the Seattle to Portland bike ride and some other adventure-type things.  When he told his family he was going to run said marathon, pretty sure they doubted him.  Then the little tyke when and ran it in about 3 and 1/2 hours.  I know, crazy, huh?

baby Godzilla! the whole fam should have known NOTHING could keep this kid from getting what he worked for!

Yes, this was my little brother.  He has always said, if you can do half (whatever distance of the race) than you can do the whole thing in a race setting.  I’m holding him to this advice.  He rocked that marathon!  I talked to him the other night and he wants to another marathon at some point in time in the future.

Me?  I’m getting very ready for this sucker!  Pretty much, I’ve stayed off the blog because all I can think about is this run.  Oh, I’ve been able to work and actually, I’ve been fairly productive.  But now, on the eve before I leave (hey it rhymed!) I’m going a little nutso!  I probably should have taken the whole day off tomorrow but I needed to save some vacation for my DISNEYWORLD MARATHON!  Haha, yes, I got my first e-mail for that today!  I know… probably not too many ppl schedule their second marathon before even running their first.  Again, me=ridiculously confident.

I can DO THIS!!!

My brother was the same way though.  When he smoked everyone in his “age group” – yeah, there wasn’t anyone IN his age group, he just took out all the older folks, he knew he could finish.  He didn’t doubt that at all.  He just ran.  (uh-oh, I can feel some Forrest Gump quotes coming on!)

Okay, this post is really just me rambling because I am SO excited and SO nervous and absolutely every emotion in between.  Tomorrow I get to see my dear friend who ran the Chicago marathon a few days ago so it will be all run talk all the time.  I’m sure her hubby is going to offer to work late.

yep, posted this 10,000 times but I love it… I love the silhouette, I love the colors and I love the fact that the runner could be any woman out there – including me!

More mind-numbing, marathon crazy talk coming at you tomorrow!  Only this will be the thankful version!

6 Responses to “4 more sleeps until the race!”

  1. EB October 11, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    Hope you got some sleep last night and finished packing! Deep breaths! You can do it! xoxox

  2. Heidi Johnson October 11, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Sooo excited for you seister !!!!! Wish very much that I could be there rooting you on.! :( love the story about Kevin…had forgotten about him running until I saw his stp paper #recently as he was going through his “tubs” …whydidn’t we go cheer him on ? Who did he go with ??

  3. Meagan @ Managing Meagan October 11, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    WOOWOO!! So excited for you!

  4. Megan@ Run Like a Grl October 11, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Ahh so exciting!’ Good luck :) you can do it and you’ll rock it too!! Have fun

  5. Kim October 12, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    I am so excited for you!!!!!! You are going to kill it. Can’t wait to hear all about it over some beers in Lake Mills. :)

  6. Jan Scott (@janscott75) October 13, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Can’t wait for the race report! I’m sure you’ll have awesome things to share.

Leave a Reply

