carb-a-licious conundrum

24 Oct

I adore carbs.  A lot.  I love them as noodles, bread, cupcakes, bagels – it doesn’t matter.  As of right this second, I can’t think of a carb I DON’T like!  So you can imagine my dismay when I stumbled upon an article a couple of weeks ago that talked about carbs and how THEY MAKE YOU RETAIN WATER!

moment of silence for my uncontrollable sobs

Maybe I am a complete idiot or simply had my head in the sand but this is the first I had heard of this.  As I have mentioned about a billion times, I take on water at alarming rates/amounts and I’ve worked to decrease my sodium levels all the while cooking up some tasty carbs.  I feel like carbs have completely cheated on me – I defended you, carbohydrates!  And this is how you repay me?!

starbucks lemon loaf – love this stuff! yes, I’m one of those “pinners” goodies and healthy

Yes, I know they won’t answer but I feel like I deserve some kind of explanation!

I read this a few weeks before the marathon so I wasn’t about to completely change my diet.  I wanted to work on getting through the race before taking a closer look at my menu and finding ways to restock my fridge and pantry.  (Btw, we never called it a “pantry” when I was little.  In fact, I originally typed “cupboards” but decided to go all exotic on you and type pantry.  I know I’m impressed!)

First and foremost, I refuse to completely take carbs out of my diet.  I can’t do it – plain and simple.  Whenever I try to void a total food group and making it the enemy, I end up going in the opposite direction and pounding said food group like some kind fiend.  But I can make some better choices by actually planning a food menu.  I’ve never done this and even though it feels a bit constricting,  lately my dinner choices have ended up being a bowl of Frosted Blueberry Mini Wheats and a bowl of tomato soup.  I love both but it’s not a meal that satisfies for very long.

these are the first squash(es?) I have ever purchased. what can I say? I was intimidated by a gourd

Second, one of my “secrets of success” to my original weight loss was eating breakfast EVERYDAY.  I haven’t stopped doing this but since August, I’ve been eating some kind of bread with peanut butter in the morning.  I’ve read before that if you have protein for breakfast you eat approximately 400 calories LESS than if you have a carb-y (i.e. bagel) one.  CRAZY!  Lately, I’ve operated under the theory that something is better than nothing, which while true, isn’t smart.  I need to smarten up.  Welcome back eggs!

Third, I’m trying out some different recipes courtesy of pinterest.  Here are a couple I’ve pinned and that are on the menu for this week:

this is a chicken, squash and quinoa soup from cookin’ canuck! she has her own weightloss story btw!

beef and broccoli – yum! I’m going to load it with some edemame, carrots and maybe some mushrooms?

While there are carb elements in the two above dishes, they aren’t the MAIN ingredient.  I’m also going to add as many veggies as I can to a) make it more filling and b) jazz it up! (click on the pics for the blogs and corresponding recipes!)

Finally, I’m attempting to branch out in my meal selection.  Chickpea patties?  Sure!  Those above squash?  Why not?  I read a little tip to sprinkle pumpkin pie spice on the green gourd and roast it for some sweetness – sounds yummy!  Experimenting will be good and maybe add some enjoyment back to cooking.

There you go – it’s a mini plan!  Water weight isn’t harmless – it’s bad for your kidneys and your circulation.  Not to mention, it’s very uncomfortable and makes me feel bad about myself.  These are immediate changes I can make and should be interesting to say the least!  I’ll let you know how it goes!

10 Responses to “carb-a-licious conundrum”

  1. Katie October 24, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    Good luck with it! I’m a huge carb fan, too, but I have to keep it under control. If it were up to me I’d be eating bread and pasta all day everyday. ;)

  2. Kara October 24, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    planning menus is SO easy and helps SO much to not only eat better, but stop staring into your fridge for endless hours agonizing on what to eat. wait, who does that? i cannot get rid of carbs either – but it is amazing how much you can cut out and still eat good stuff (like those cheesesteak stuffed peppers – delish!)

  3. Heidi October 24, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Hello Dear Seister,
    Sean and I have had a A LOT of surprising meals in the quest to not eat bad carbs/ gluten-free… one is cauliflower rice –it’s pretty amazing (sean can give you a recipe for this)! It’s an awesome substitute to have along w/stir-fry’s and other Asian dishes and makes you not miss rice at all-surprising but true! Another is spaghetti squash in lieu of spaghetti noodles! Butternut squash soup is another Fall favorite! Xo!

  4. runninbear October 24, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    I rarely eat carbs and I miss them like I would miss my leg if it were gone. I menu plan every week as it keeps me on track weight loss wise and keeps our budget tight. I try to have at least one meal a week that has some carbs as the star ingredient. I must admit, when I do eat carbs, they are the truly yummy ones, egg pasta, white rice, cake (?), etc.

    • amysrecipefordisaster October 24, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Good to know meal planning works! And yes, cake is definitely a YUMMY carb :)

  5. pensive pumpkin (@pensivepumpkin) October 24, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    i’m a water weight girl too. Even in races, I blow up like a balloon- by the end I cannot open gels or work my phone. It blows.

    But you will pry this cookie from my swollen, useless fingers. Sigh.

    • amysrecipefordisaster October 24, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Haha, I totally get it and swell also. I gained 7 lovely pounds from the marathon – before, during and after. Lovely!

  6. ~jenniferlynn October 25, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    Love, love, love the meal planning! I don’t think “carbs” are the devil, just the white, tasty, starchy ones, like you know, wheat, rice, oatmeal, etc. :P
    Sweet potatoes have become my best friend, and we eat spaghetti squash once a week. Two more to add to your list! :)

  7. Tasha @ Healthy Diva October 27, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    I love carbs too- this is awful news! I used to eat a ton of carbs until I started to work out with a personal trainer in 2011. She got me eating more protein and I lost weight easier. I still do love my carbs!

Leave a Reply

