challenge monday – not a push up in sight!

19 Nov

I’m never quite sure how weekends go by so quickly… there should be some kind of time-stop continuum that allows for weekend days to pass by slower.  That would be more fair of the universe, at least, in my opinion!

Also, not that my writing typically has any major cliffhangers but I will be writing about my Triple Crown 5k weekend tomorrow!  So stay tuned!

Now for the next challenge monday announcement!  I decided to base this one on a (style of) warm-ups we used in Crossfit.  The warm-ups always left me breathless but were finished quickly so it was a great way to do a quick burn and tone.  Here it is:

20 squats

30 mountain climbers (each leg counts as one so this equals 15 for each leg)

25 sit-ups

do this 3 times with no rest!

Again, I like these “warm ups” because you can feel it!  Do this for 5 out of 7 days if you can!

Sooooo, how did the 1000 push ups go for folks?  This was miserable for me!  I didn’t even come near my goal.  Part of it was sheer laziness but the other part was my poor t-rex arms are currently on the pathetic side!  Perhaps a wee bit ambitious for this first challenge?!  Probably but I think that means it will need to make another appearance somewhere down the line.  I changed the challenge up a bit this week to be something that is fairly attainable but hopefully still is a mini workout.

I don’t now how they get these pictures of me!

Other than that, Happy Monday!  Or more accurately, Happy Short Week!  Yay!  With the Thanksgiving holiday comes the start of the Runner’s World Holiday Run Streak challenge.  Are any of you participating?  I really want to but I am lacking the confidence in myself that I will actually complete it.  Obviously, this is why it’s called a “challenge” but still in my mind it seems like it should be so easy.  Why is this not easy???  Thoughts?  Are you going to do it?

wanna go streaking with me??

4 Responses to “challenge monday – not a push up in sight!”

  1. Tasha @ Healthy Diva November 19, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    You should try and do the push ups again in a month or so and see if you can do them. It would be a good motivator for you and a goal. :-)

  2. Meagan @ Managing Meagan November 20, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Maybe next time you try the push up challenge just aim to do X-many MORE than you did this time… instead of a random number. That way you’ll know you improved and pushed yourself harder!

    Btw– can we PLEASE schedule a run together soon? I’ll come to you! Maybe next weekend? What’s on your “plan” right now as you prep for Disney? I need someone to MAKE me do a looooong run.

Leave a Reply

