the last bit of birthday talk

4 Feb

Thank you all for the birthday wishes!  I have ALWAYS loved my birthday.  When I was younger, I had great parties and my family was really good at making them special.  I am a firm believer that birthdays are INDEED special and it sincerely boggles my mind when people don’t like theirs.

That all being said, I’m still not quite sure about this whole “getting older” thing.  There are several aspects that I appreciate:  being more comfortable in who I am as a person, not caring (as much) about what other people think of me, the ability to better balance my work and personal life and understanding what I want out of life.

Now, what I do not appreciate is the slowing of the metabolism, the pressure that I should want or be more than what I currently am and this feeling I have that I am “behind” a.k.a not married (heck, not in a relationship!), no kiddies and not living in this house

-6

I’ve also grown up… for the last several years, I’ve gone out to get a FABULOUS birthday dress.  This year was not different but it didn’t get here in time!  I did order it from my favorite store that has all kinds of umm…”party dresses” so I was disappointed but I made do.  If this had happened last year, I think I would have freaked out.  I know this seems like a small and perhaps petty example but learning to chill out is a great accomplishment for yours truly!

haha, this was NOT what I picked out to wear but I thought it was ridiculous and had to show you

haha, this was NOT what I picked out to wear but I thought it was ridiculous and had to show you

Oh yeah, birthdays surely make me think!  But honestly, did you expect anything different from me?!  The last few days, I’ve thought about the fun experiences I’ve had this year and the situations where I stepped out of my comfort zone.  I got a promotion and interviewed for a few other positions.  I’ve traveled (a crazy amount – I’ve worn out my suitcase!), spent time with my family and (ugh!) MOVED!  Haha, yes, moving was probably one of my biggest accomplishments because packing essentially makes me break into hives.

I paid off a lot of debt, developed and nurtured  total kick-ass friendships, ran a FULL marathon (x2!!), actually kept up with blogging, watched every season of Supernatural, tried crossfit, ran a relay from Madison to Chicago, and am getting better with the whole “simplifying” aspect of my life.

wanted to post this one again!

wanted to post this one again!

My favorite poem has always been Robert Frost’s “The Road Less Traveled”.  I know it sounds cheesy but I’ve never taken the well-beaten path and it’s something I have to remind myself when those “I’m behind” feelings hit.  I have some big plans for this next year… can’t wait to fill you all in!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “the last bit of birthday talk”

  1. EB February 4, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    You are amazing! Here’s to another year of accomplishments! xoxo

  2. Tasha @ Healthy Diva February 4, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    I want to know what your big plans are! I love hearing what other people want to do. Makes me feel motivated.

    Glad that you had such a wonderful birthday. I have a feeling that this next year will be fabulous for you!

  3. Meagan @ Managing Meagan February 5, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    What big plans?!?!? I wanna hear all about them!!!

    Happy belated bday!! :)

Leave a Reply

