totally ready to eat all of the carbs in the world

28 Feb

This week has been weird.  In fact, today was weird.  It perked up toward the end of the day but I guess I am not remembering a whole lot from the few days prior either.  I think there are several reasons for this:

1.  The Cleanse… or maybe a better word would be detox.  Anyway, it’s messin’ with me, man!  I’m hungry, plain and simple.  After this is done, I have decided I am not going to give up carbs.  I like them.  I miss them.  I want real noodles and I want some bread.  I also want a burger but that’s a whole other story.  I am glad I decided to do this before heading off to Vegas because I’m going to eat a lot.  I’ve been hungry for days now and there are a few times where I feel a bit out of it.  And my energy has seen better days.  I haven’t been working out and I’m in bed around 10:30 pm every night.  At least it’s been good for my sleeping habits!  I chalk all of this up to not eating enough.  So when this is over, I am going to continue watching my sugar intake because I think this has made me sluggish recently.  But I will be making sure to get the right amount of calories for an active lifestyle.

turkey bacon in a baggie - completely normal, right?

turkey bacon in a baggie – completely normal, right?

2.  VEGAS next week!  I can’t wait!  I am thrilled to be going on a mini-vaca and I am looking into a 5k in the area!  I would be doing it with a twitter friend/runner!  I think it would be super fun and I am ready to go there and enjoy the sights and sounds of that crazy place.  I know I will be ready to come home too but it will be a few days before I reach that point.  Oh yeah, it won’t be 25* there either.

this is how fun vegas will be

3.  I had an appointment with my neurologist this week.  After my 4 day migraine last week, I figured it would be a good time to schedule something (clearly, I am very intelligent).  It was a fabulous appointment!  I am not kidding – she really listens to me and I brought her a whole list of questions.  One of my goals for the year was to become more educated on my disease/condition (I’m not sure which one it is) and this helped.  I have frontal lobe epilepsy.  I’ve never known this before!  We also decided to change up my medication.  WHOA NELLY!  To let you know how monumental this is, I haven’t changed my medication aside from dosage, in 16 years!  After I get back from vaca I will start the process.  It’s not going to be all bells and whistles, so my excitement is mingled with nerves.  I’m sure I will write more about it.  I do have this feeling of hope though, since my current meds have side effects that I will be happy to no longer have to deal with.

this is NOT what happened at my appointment!

this is NOT what happened at my appointment!

So there you go… tonight I am going to maul some chicken and tomatoes and after tomorrow, I will be finished.  I will definitely “review” this whole detox thing but I am not doing the “miracle soup” on Saturday.  I have to fly on Sunday and I am not sure what that will do to my tummy.

7 Responses to “totally ready to eat all of the carbs in the world”

  1. Rachel February 28, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    My dad just recently changed his epilepsy medicine too. I think we was on the old stuff for almost 20 years! He is feeling better already, so I’m glad it’s working for him. I hope the new meds work well for you too.

    • amysrecipefordisaster March 18, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      That’s so great to hear! I think getting through the next month will be the hardest so I’m really looking toward the light at the end of the tunnel. I’m going to remember your dad as some inspiration!

  2. Tasha @ Healthy Diva February 28, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    Have fun in Vegas!!!!!! I can’t wait to go in November!

  3. lovinghomemade March 4, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    Really behind on my blog reading! Hope you’re having a great trip, love the video!

  4. Lisa Jameson March 5, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    Just got back from Vegas on sunday, weather is PRISTINE right now! Hope the changing of your medicine when you return makes all the difference for you :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster March 18, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

      thanks! so far it’s been tougher than I planned but I’m determined. Vegas was great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Google - March 6, 2013

    Google…

    […]Here is a superb Blog You might Discover Intriguing that we Encourage You[…]…

Leave a Reply

