mini vegas recap

13 Mar

Yay!  I’m back!

First of all, I am practically jumping for joy considering my internet has been down now for TWO *%#!* WEEKS!  Great balls of fire, this was annoying!  Thankfully, I was gone for a week of that time but still, it has been so irritating.  I just wanted to pin and write!

Seriously though, I am happy to home.  I had a blast in Vegas but my waste line, my liver and my wallet would not be able to survive long-term there.  I understand people who live there don’t party it up every night and maybe if I spent longer than a week there, I wouldn’t have either.  However, let’s just say, I took advantage of what Vegas had to offer!

Here are some of my pictures:

two of my super ugly views - one from the vdara and one from palms place

two of my super ugly views – one from the vdara and one from palms place

breakfast of champions, yo!  this included creme brulee (best flavor ever) and chocolate frozen yogurt

breakfast of champions, yo! this included creme brulee (best flavor ever) and chocolate frozen yogurt

this combo might look odd but it was fab - sour cream, relish and tomatoes.  eat one, now!

this combo might look odd but it was fab – sour cream, relish and tomatoes. eat one, now!

a cupcake too pretty to eat?  almost... but I managed to choke down this triple chocolate bit of heaven!

a cupcake too pretty to eat? almost… but I managed to choke down this triple chocolate bit of heaven!

All in all it was a great trip.  I really did get some good work done and attended quite a few quality sessions.  I got to see one of my old friends/co-workers and got to know a few co-workers all the better.  I even ran twice!  Maybe not an epic number but considering alcohol was a main staple in my diet, I was fairly happy with it!

it's me getting ready to run!

it’s me getting ready to run!

Also, let me say… the FOOD!  Wow!  I hit four different buffets – the dinner and breakfast buffets at the Aria were two of them.  At dinner, one of my favorite things was (get this) the fish from the fish and chips.  Oh!  And the mac and cheese – so good!  They also probably had some of the best bacon I have ever tasted.  I wanted to stuff pounds of it in my purse!  We also ate at a sushi buffet called, Todai and whoa – delish.  I tried several different things that I ordinarily would have snubbed my nose at.  Of course I can’t remember what they were called but still, it was fantastic.  Finally, we ate at the Caesar’s buffet and this was the best from the bunch.  My favorite thing was the sweet potato tots – YUM!  But of course I loaded up on seafood at each one and tried duck (not my fave), crawfish (very good) and plenty of other things.  That is definitely the best part about a buffet – you can try so much that you might not want to pay straight up for.

However, we ate dinner one night at Sage (located in the Aria).  We chose the Chef option menu and there is a lighter (read less expensive) option before 7 pm.  We both chose this and while I never would have put any of the flavors together it was probably one of the best meals I have ever eaten.  There was a pear and brussel sprout salad – love.  Then a chicken dish with parsnips and for dessert a pineapple concoction.  Apparently the chef liked us because we started the meal with some sort of duck mixture (this one I liked) and ended the meal with basically a little shot of hot chocolate and peanut butter – it smelled like a chocolate and peanut butter cookie.  We used it to wash down this

two of us shared this... potent business friends

two of us shared this… potent business friends

Then it was on to the show Absente!  It’s adult only – and really it’s a comedy show mixed with Cirque de Sole mixed with… I don’t even know.  But it was great!

Of course being in Vegas meant I had to bet on my Zags!

me and my "bookie"!

me and my “bookie”!

Unfortunately, I bet to beat the point spread.  While I am happy they won by 20 points, I only needed them to make ONE MORE BASKET and I would have won a whopping $18.00!  Haha, yeah, I’m not the biggest gambler.

Great vaca and happy to be home.  My little fuzzy buddy missed me and I need a nap like it’s nobody’s business.  Because of situations like this…

one of our new friends from san diego - they loved us and proceeded to buy us alcohol

one of our new friends from san diego – they loved us and proceeded to buy us alcohol

Can’t wait to catch up on all of my blog reading!  I missed you all!

3 Responses to “mini vegas recap”

  1. kmhoho March 14, 2013 at 6:29 am #

    Sounds like a blast!!! Vegas always is. :)

  2. Meagan @ Managing meagan March 14, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    WELCOME BACK!!!!

  3. Tasha @ Healthy Diva March 14, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    I cannot wait for Vegas in November!!!! Reading about how amazing the food is just makes even more excited to want to eat everything when I get there. Glad that you had such a fun trip. Go Zags!

Leave a Reply

