dopey vs. goofy

10 Apr

It came down to a battle… a battle royale if you will.

5d439c11cfcaa812b99002e723ec6d8f

6e80a0a010f4aa8b2ed26fd9475c7bed

                                  VS

In the end, it really wasn’t that much of a fight.  I already had decided I was going to attempt the Goofy race at Disney World (doing the 1/2 marathon Sat and then the full on Sun) next year and then I didn’t get into the Chicago Marathon so I decided doing the Dopey (doing the 5k, 10k, 1/2 and then the full over 4 days) was a nice balm to soothe my hurt feelings – thanks a lot Chicago.  Not to mention, Dopey is PRICEY! so not getting into Chicago actually made it possible for me to afford it.  I still haven’t decided if I am going to check out any full marathons for fall but I am leaning towards sticking to shorter distances.  I do think some of my burnout this past year can be attributed to trying to do “all the races” instead of sticking to one and calling it good.  I will admit to getting sucked into posts on twitter, facebook and blogs that detailed their latest race.  I would read them and think of myself as a slacker for not signing up, too.  Ah well, live and learn.

20884_10101352953896462_1651061702_n

So, the Dopey.  You might be wondering why I think I can possibly pull this off given my blog posts as of late.  Trust me, I thought about this too – could I really do it?  Did I have enough faith in myself to actually train consistently and well in advance?  Where would I find the motivation when so often I talk about how lackluster it is?  These are all quality questions and I did think these through.  Because I love a good bulleted list, here is what I have:

1.  I want some redemption on this race course.  While this primarily speaks to the marathon course, I would love to have some happier race memories from Disney World.  I figure if I race all of them, this is bound to happen.

2.  I’m placing a lot of faith and hope in these new meds.  While I haven’t been promised to feel like a new woman, I have been told I will feel BETTER than I have in the past year.  This bodes well for my motivation and overall attitude.

3.  Determination – I “haz” it.  Or at least remnants of it that currently need to be fed and nurtured a bit.

4.  A group of us are taking this plunge together.  We have all worked together at one time or another and realize this is going to be a painful experience.  But I think being in pain with friends is so much more fun then being in pain by yourself.

5.  Perhaps my biggest “let’s do this” moment was when I decided I wanted to use this as an opprotunity to raise money for Epilepsy Awareness.  Like I mentioned last week, I want to make something good come out of this recent hell experience and this seemed like a good idea.  I will be happy if I raise any amount of money.  I have some different ideas of ways to raise the funds and hopefully I will find support from friends, family and the blog community – whether that be in monetarily or simply a “Yay Amy!”.

check out this site!  it's great and super informative!

this is a great initiative – check it out!

So there you go – this was my thought process as I filled out the entry form and committed my legs to this feat (ha! see what I did there?!).  I am absolutely nervous but recognize that individuals run 50 mile races in ONE DAY so I can certainly run 43.5 over the course of 4.  Oh yes, and if you have heard, there is a multitude of shirts and medals.  This certainly makes my heart sing.  Like anything with me, it always sounds like an amazing idea in the beginning and then it becomes real and I wonder what the hell I was thinking.  Essentially, I am planning for this to happen so at least I won’t be broadsided with these feelings.  Seriously, it’s an adventure right?!

11 Responses to “dopey vs. goofy”

  1. Amy Z April 10, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    I’m considering this. I shouldn’t be, but I am.

  2. Becky April 10, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    Sorry to break this to you but it’s 48.6 my dear friend!! Giddy up Amy here we go!! 9 more months until Dopey!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 11, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

      Oh gosh – I can’t add! Haha, maybe this will help me when I am running it! :)

  3. Kim April 10, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    I’m so excited for you! My friend that ran the last marathon while you were there is also doing the Dopey! You guys are so driven!

  4. kmhoho April 10, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Phew!!! You made me tired thinking about all that running!!!! LOL. I think you can totally do it if you put your mind to it and train your butt off! Our bodies are amazing in what they can accomplish when we give them the opportunity.

  5. Tasha @ Healthy Diva April 10, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    The Dopey Challenge sounds absolutely insane, but something I would totally love doing. I know that you can do it, you are determined and you have the motivation. We just have to get you feeling better. Keeping my fingers crossed that your new medicine helps you!

  6. Meagan April 11, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    GOOOOOD LUCK!!!! Can’t wait to hear about the training and stuff. I’ll live vicariously through you!! LOL

  7. whichwaytothegym April 12, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    This is impressive! Just recently started following your blog and can’t wait to hear about your progress.

  8. lovinghomemade April 12, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    OMG! I’m panicking already about a half marathon I’ve signed up for in October!

Leave a Reply

