another adult decision

6 May

Despite my ability to run distances without proper training, I’ve started to wonder how much I actually enjoy this.  Lately, I’ve finished races thinking “what I could have done if I had trained properly” rather than celebrating crossing the finish line.  Sure, it’s funny to finish a race and think, “how did I do that?!” but more and more I miss feeling prepared.  Not to mention, as I am less trained, my performance is suffering.  I liked being decent at running and I’m noticing I’m losing interest/heart as my paces slow.  I still love running but now I feel bad about myself rather than proud.

With that in mind, I’ve made yet another adult decision:  I’m dropping down from the 25k this upcoming weekend, to the 10k.  It’s a smart move for me.  I could probably gut out the 15 miles but then I would be in recovery mode for a couple of weeks since I’m not ready for the distance.  I would risk possible injury.  I would feel down on myself for not properly training.  I wouldn’t be happy with my time.  The list continues.  But a 10k is managable for me and even though it won’t be my speediest, it will be fun.  And I will be able to walk afterward.

With this in mind, I am thinking about the Dopey training plan now.  I know – who am I?!  But some of the training plans I have seen get up and running (ugh, what a terrible pun!) in July so it’s not too far away.  Then I found a training plan that is 30 weeks long.

6e80a0a010f4aa8b2ed26fd9475c7bed

Whew!  I found this training plan on RunningDownaDream23’sBlog.  Here it is:

http://runningdownadream23.com/2013/04/12/dopey-challenge-novice-training-program/

Week Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
30 Bike 30 2 miles 3 miles Rest Bike 30 5 miles Core/stretch
29 Bike 30 2 miles 3 miles Rest Bike 30 5 miles Core/stretch
28 Bike 30 2 miles 3 miles Rest Bike 30 6 miles Core/stretch
27 Bike 30 2 miles 5K Rest Bike 30 8 miles Core/stretch
26 Bike 30 2 miles Rest 5K Easy Bike 30 Ellip 30 Core/stretch
25 Bike 30 2 miles 4 miles 2 miles 3 miles 4 miles 8 miles
24 Bike 30 3 miles 4 miles Rest Bike 30 13 miles Core/stretch
23 Bike 30 3 miles 5 miles Rest Bike 30 15  miles Core/stretch
22 Bike 30 4 miles 5 miles Rest Bike 30 10  miles Core/stretch
21 Bike 30 3 miles 6 miles Rest Bike 30 17  miles Core/stretch
20 Bike 30 5K Easy Rest 5K Easy Bike 30min Ellip 30 Core/stretch
19 Rest Bike 30 Rest 5K Easy 5 miles 6 miles 12 miles
18 Bike 30 5K Easy 5 miles Rest Bike 30 15 miles Core/stretch
17 Bike 30 5K Easy 6 miles Rest Bike 30 17 miles Core/stretch
16 Bike 30 5K Easy 7 miles Rest Bike 30 12 miles Core/stretch
15 Bike 30 5K Easy 7 miles Rest Bike 30 21 miles Core/stretch
14 Bike 30 5K Easy Rest 5K Easy Bike 30 Ellip 30 Core/stretch
13 Rest Bike 30 Rest 5K Easy 10K 8 miles 16 miles
12 Bike 30 5K Easy Rest 10K Easy Bike 30 17 miles Core/stretch
11 Bike 30 5K Easy Rest 10K Easy Bike 30 19 miles Core/stretch
10 Bike 30 5K Easy Rest 7 miles Bike 30 14 miles Core/stretch
9 Bike 30 5K Easy Rest 7 miles Bike 30 22.5 miles Core/stretch
8 Bike 30 5K Easy Rest 5K Easy Bike 30 Ellip 30 Core/stretch
7 Rest Bike 30 Rest 5K Easy 10K Easy 10 miles 21 miles
6 Bike 30 5K Easy 10K Easy Rest Bike 30 19 miles Core/stretch
5 Bike 30 5K Easy 10K Easy Rest Bike 30 21 miles Core/stretch
4 Bike 30 5K Easy 7 miles Rest Bike 30 23 miles Core/stretch
3 Bike 30 5K Easy 7 miles Rest Bike 30 15 miles Core/stretch
2 Bike 30 5K Easy 7 miles Core/stretch Bike 30 20 miles Core/stretch
1 Bike 30 15K Easy Rest 10K Easy Bike 30 Ellip 30 Core/stretch
0 Rest Rest Rest WDW 5K WDW 10K WDW Half WDW Full

There is also a intermediate version but it contains significant more mileage and I am not sure I am ready to take that on in the next few months.  I’ve linked it here in case you want to view it.  There are special instructions that I did not copy and paste here so please know, there is more information.

What I like about this one is the cross-training but still builds in a lot of miles.  I also like how this would feel more like an actual lifestyle rather than a training plan.  Does that make sense?  Maybe I am fooling myself but as I’ve mentioned before, I’m a fan of denial.

I doubt my journey will be this idealistic but one can dream!

I doubt my journey will be this idealistic but one can dream!

Not to mention, I swore I would never be as ill-prepared as I was for the Disney World marathon.  And guess what?  I haven’t been – you know why?  I haven’t raced since then!  Not on purpose mind you, but now I’ve noticed I’m gun-shy.  It’s easier for me to think of a reason not to race rather than to race.  I want to reverse this mindset!  Which means getting my arse out there.  I have no idea if I can follow a training plan but I am going to try my best.  Naturally, I’ll keep you posted!

4 Responses to “another adult decision”

  1. lovinghomemade May 6, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    It’s on a very different scale but I’m also fed up with not training properly but have signed up for a half marathon in October. Am going to make sure I try to get all the proper training in this time! Good luck with yours.

  2. kmhoho May 6, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    I think it was a good decision to drop to the 10K! We can be running buddies now! :) I think the best advice I can give you for following a training plan is just to follow it. Just do it. Let yourself be a slave to the schedule. Don’t waver. Don’t make excuses. Don’t think you can wing it. Don’t think you’ll just do it tomorrow because tomorrow already has a plan. Don’t forget about your ultimate goal – which is beyond the race you’re training for. You can convince yourself that the race doesn’t matter – but your real goal does. You will be so proud of yourself when you do the training and finish the race well!!

  3. Tasha @ Healthy Diva May 7, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    It is never a bad thing to switch to a lesser distance. I have done it multiple times and it has always been the best decision.

  4. Meagan @ Managing meagan May 7, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    I think it’s a great decision!!! 25K is a long ass freaking way!!! I think if you stick to your training plan you’ll amaze yourself b/c you are amazing… plan or not… but, I think you’ll feel SO much more ready and prepared if you stick to a plan!

Leave a Reply

