my race doubleheader

18 Sep

Saturday morning my alarm went off at 6:26 am and for a moment I wanted to roll over and go back to sleep.  Truth be told, I even considered it.  Had this been even a few months ago, I probably would have done it (and did).  But I was running with my friend so I figured ditching her would be kind of rude.  I also had set everything I was going to wear out the night before like a good runner should.  In the morning I decided I didn’t want to wear any of it and completely overhauled my whole outfit.  I’m my own kind of “good runner”!

As I mentioned the other day, the Peacock Strut is my favorite 10k.  When I signed up, I saw it was the same price to sign up for both the 10k and the 5k.  I knew I was going to need to get more miles in anyway so I decided to go for it.

this was my friend's first 10k!

this was my friend’s first 10k!

It didn’t dawn on me until a few days later that I was going to RACE two events.  I knew taking it easy would be difficult for me because the competitive spirit is so addicting!  Saturday, it was a very cool morning, in the low 50’s, which is great.  You have to walk up this long-ish hill to get to the start of the race and I was chilly.  But these are great conditions to be sweating my bum off so I sucked it up and waited for the air horn.  Right before the start, my iPod battery died so I was hoping this wasn’t a terrible omen for the race ahead!

The 10k went well!  I got stuck behind this group of women around the 3.5 mile and this part of the course is the out and back and I didn’t want to step into the other “lane of traffic”.  I was also concerned that if I did pass them, I wouldn’t be able to keep the pace.  This was dumb and I think ended up biting me in the hiney.  Finally, I did get past them and I picked it up.  I knew I was going to still have to run the 5k but I wanted to run the mile I was in NOW.

I finished the 10k in 1:08 and a few seconds.  I think this is the slowest 10k I have ever done so I was kind of bummed.  I also didn’t think I had much hope for a successful 5k.  I shoved some Honey Stinger chews in my mouth and hiked back UP that stinkin’ hill!  The start was a bit closer but not by a whole lot.  I actually had never had Honey Stinger chews but they were awesome!  So YUMMY!

I’ve never had good luck with 5k’s.  My PR is 28 mins, which isn’t very fast considering how much I used to run; especially considering my 10k PR is 52 mins.  I’ve also never warmed up before running a 5k and I am beginning to think this might help!  Instead of the 10k being a hinderance, it definitely helped being warm and ready to run.  My 5k time was 33 mins.  My last 5k time was 33 mins and I certainly hadn’t run 6 miles prior!  I was very pleased with this outcome.

stronger than you thinkThe finish line ends on a hill.  It’s short but a bit steep and at the end of the 5k I felt like I was climbing Mt Everest!  Haha, I’m sure I looked like an idiot as I was almost falling over!  OH!  And as I was nearing the finish line for the 10k, I almost fell into the pond  when I turned the corner.  Yep, I’m a disaster.

All in all, this was a very good plan!  I decided to include the portion I walked to get up the hill for the start of the 5k and this rounded out a happy 10 miles.  It was certainly the boost I needed for this upcoming half on the 28th.  I also realized sometimes I am ridiculous.  Why wouldn’t have I been able to accomplish this?  I’ve achieved many things as a runner.  I’ve run two marathons.  I’ve run a handful of halfs, a 25k, 10ks and 5ks.  An overnight relay and a regular relay!  Oh and a mudrun, which I don’t think I will ever do again!  The other night I was whining about a bad run and how I “pretend to run” to a friend.  His response, “whatever, you ARE a runner”.  This stuck with me and helped fuel me through today when I wanted to walk!  All the times as of late when I felt I couldn’t keep going were my mind playing tricks on me.  Clearly, I can run nine miles without walking.

I feel like I have these running epiphanies every few months!  Since my mental game has been lacking (especially as of late) this was the perfect time for this epiphany.  So there you go, your body is always more capable than you realize.  Trust me – I’ve tested this!

2 Responses to “my race doubleheader”

  1. lovinghomemade September 20, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    Your times are great, you should be very proud! And even if they weren’t you’re still doing all that running – you are most definitely a runner! I pretend to be and have my first half marathon at the start of October. Am probably the slowest runner of all the people I know and I struggle to remember that just because they are better than me doesn’t mean that it’s not an achievement for me. Positive thinking, am sure it’s all there is too it!

    • amysrecipefordisaster September 27, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      Thank you! You are a runner too! I can’t wait to hear how your first half marathon goes! You will do amazing and truth be told, my inner critique is much harsher on myself. I love to celebrate other runners’ accomplishments and need to be this kind to myself as well. Yay! I’m so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

