time needs to stop now!

30 Oct

Ugh – Monday and Tuesday I continued to feel under the weather.  I couldn’t figure out why I was feeling so lethargic and it dawned on me that pain killers probably aren’t keeping me bright eyed and bushy tailed.

Yesterday, one of my fellow Dopey runners posted the following on my fb timeline: “Only 70 more sleeps!”.  I think I threw up a little in my mouth.  Remember how yesterday I said I should chill out because I’m not in peak training?  Well, that went out the window as soon as I read that!

So, I watched “Spirit of the Marathon” last night.  It really is such a good story and is so inspirational.  My favorite runner is Lori O’Connor.  It didn’t tell her finishing time but I was finally able to locate it (yes, I was a stalker) and she finished in 4:21.  I just really liked her determination and her confidence in herself.  She knew she had put forth the training and come race day she was ready.  I’m excited to feel this way!  And I know I’m on my way!

be prepared – this will be used again!

I also want to put a shout out to my baby brother!  It was his birthday yesterday!  This whacky kid (adult) ran his first marathon when he was 12 or 13.  He thought the finish line was closer than it was and basically sprinted the last few miles.  He ran that puppy in 3:30-something.  I know, AMAZING!

here is my mom and an almost baby kevin!

here is my mom and an almost baby kevin!

kevin was 8 months old when he started walking!  he is already wearing his marathon shorts!

kevin was 8 months old when he started walking! he is already wearing his marathon shorts!

everyone used to think we were twins - I loved it

everyone used to think we were twins – I loved it

Happy Birthday Kev!

4 Responses to “time needs to stop now!”

  1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals October 30, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Happy Birthday Brother! Crazy, ran his first marathon at 12?!

    • amysrecipefordisaster October 31, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      I know. He also climbed to one of the upper base camps of Mount Everest for his 30th birthday. He doesn’t do anything halfway!

  2. Meagan October 31, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Awww!!! Those pics are so cute!!!

Leave a Reply

