some odds and ends

7 Nov

Yesterday I had a migraine so I didn’t want to nor could I post.  The day before that I was majorly productive – worked late, cooked dinner, did laundry and a few other items on my to do list.  I think I used up all of my productivity power.

this is all I can manage today

Today I’m back!  Yay!  I am also excited for three packages that came in the mail today.  A new sports bra – always fun.  Whoever Fiona is, I kind of love her a lot

I was too lazy to actually take a good pic

I was too lazy to actually take a good pic

New shoes – we’ll see… wait – didn’t I just get new shoes?  I did, however, I want to bring two pairs with me to Disney in order to switch off between races.  Also, I hate choosing between Brooks and Mizunos.  It’s like choosing which parent I like better.  Now I have both.

new mizunos

so fresh and so clean, clean

By the way – (if applicable) would you pick the Wave Enigmas or the Wave Riders?

Arch supports!  I’ve been whining about my right foot for some time now and I am afraid to go to the doctor.  I know, this really is stupid but I’ve sunk a lot of time, effort and money into the dopey challenge and I don’t want my stupid arch to come between us.  I did get a name of a sports med doc yesterday so I will call and make an appt.  As my friend Kara says, maybe it won’t really be that bad?  (hopefully this isn’t ominous foreshadowing!)

Other than these totally newsworthy events, I’ve been laying low the last few days.  I haven’t run since Sunday.  I wanted to wait until I got the supports and see if this helped.  Tonight will be a treadmill run or the flattest sidewalks I can find.

Oh and check out natures efforts:

naturenature 2Aren’t they crazy red?  I am not sure I have ever seen bushes this saturated in color.  They flank the courtyard of my apt complex and I couldn’t decide which one was more red.  So I posted both.  Seriously mother nature and midwest – well done.

Lastly, I’ve signed up for two races recently.  A local Turkey Trot, which is on campus.  It’s the oldest Turkey Trot in Kalamazoo and I’ve done it for about 5 years now.  Also, a 1/2 in February.  This is the second year of this local half and it’s called “Winter Blast”.  Last year I signed up but for a number of reasons didn’t participate.  Should be a good time and it’s nice that it’s 15 mins away!

2 Responses to “some odds and ends”

  1. kmhoho November 7, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    At the very least you’ll know what you’re dealing with injury wise. Ignoring it doesn’t make it go away!!! But it very well could be something minor. Better to know!!! Hope your migraine is better :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster November 8, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks-headache has hung around but hopefully now that we have entered wkend country, I’ll feel better

Leave a Reply

