my definition of a “carb” is probably wrong

13 Nov

Brrr!  The snow has hit!  It is chilly!  I have no idea why I haven’t turned my heat on in my apt – I hate sleeping in a warm room so maybe this is part of it?  Who knows but I think Simon is starting to get grumpy!

Monday morning I woke up late (even later than usual!) and I was heading out of my room and stepped on a vacuum attachment.  UGH!  It hurt!  And I tweaked my ankle a bit.  The only thing I could think of is if I couldn’t run anymore because I’m a slob I am going to be crabby pants!

this sorta fits… but is also too funny

Then I spilled coffee in my car – akk, liquid gold!  I know – I really do live a hard life.

A couple of weeks ago, I talked about how I was going to limit my intake of carbs.  I should clarify my definition of “carbs” –  bread/noodles/rice/whatever and starches.  My co-worker was giving me a hard time that I don’t know the proper definition.  Maybe not but this is what I am going with!  The first few days, I would have traded my pinky finger for a bowl of Frosted Blueberry Mini Wheats!  But as the days passed it got easier.  I didn’t drop carby goodness all together rather staying away from them for breakfast and lunch; dinner they are back on the table!

these lil’ buggers call to meeeee

Again, the first couple of days, I went really overboard at night.  I felt as though I was depriving myself and I just MISSED (mostly) bread.  The deprivation didn’t stick around and it got easier and easier.  I also found I don’t snack as much and I think my diet seems healthier.  I didn’t realize how much I depended on quick foods i.e. processed.

No more granola bars, breakfast bars, some snacky-type items or a lot of sandwiches (at least during lunch).  This is going fairly well, although there are times when I miss having these fast options.  I do realize these were empty calories especially considering they didn’t keep me full for very long.  Lunch is my hardest meal since I can’t quite figure out an easy/quick menu.  I also depend heavily on dairy.  Oh and eggs – I should own some chickens!  Habits are hard to break and I’m lazy when it comes to meal planning.  I do feel this is more of a lifestyle change so it’s still a work in progress.

my pie craving is reaching level 5 status. I fear for the pumpkin pie that is in my future!

Because there are so many types of meal plans out there, I needed to consider where I was going to fall – was I going to eat beans?  Fruit during the day?  Dairy or no dairy?  As I stated, I am keeping the dairy and I avoided my beloved bananas initially.  I missed having bananas for breaky so I knew I was going to bring this back.  I’ve been wishy-washy on beans (they are not paleo approved) but I want to keep these for dinner.

Are there any changes?  Actually I am not sure.  I do know I’m losing inches but considering I’m running as well I’m not sure which is a result of which.  My food choices are healthier  and I feel full longer.  I *think* I’m eating a little less sugar too but let’s not go overboard just yet!  This is not even close to an overnight process for me!

this is exactly how I feel

Any good ideas for lunches?  I think vegetarian would be good options but ones that don’t rely on breads, rice or noodles…

6 Responses to “my definition of a “carb” is probably wrong”

  1. Heidi November 13, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    Hey Sis! Sean has a great recipe for Almond flour bread! It almost has a cornbread consistency… but is flat so you can toast it up, throw some almond butter on it..honey.. have with eggs.. it’s a staple in our house! xoxo

  2. lovinghomemade November 14, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    How about soup for lunch?

  3. jh November 15, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    I will cook up chicken thighs or ground beef and have that for lunch most days; pair with a side of raw veggies, 1/2 an avocado, and an apple. Done. ;)

    • amysrecipefordisaster November 17, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      That’s a good idea – I need to get better at prepping since I no longer can grab the “easiest” thing, like a peanut butter sandwich!

Leave a Reply

