I should be running a turkey trot right now

23 Nov

I’m feeling a bit sorry for myself.  At this moment I am supposed to be running the annual Turkey Trot here on campus but instead I’m laying on my couch hacking up a lung.  I was certain I would be able to kick this sickness by resting this past week however this hasn’t been the case.

people have acted this way around me this week on some varying levels

Oh, I’m sure it’s helped.  I was out of work for two days.  Yesterday I went back and noticed I was out of breath walking around.  So, no running this morning… Being smart is dumb.  There is another Turkey Trot in town on Thanksgiving so this is a definite possibility.  I’m also thinking a trip to the doc on Monday might be in order.

Alright, whining finished… I think…

I did make a very good pot of chili this week!  I love Wendy’s chili and found this copy cat recipe on pinterest (of course) and it turned out really well.  Actually, I’ve seen this recipe floating around the internet for years and I finally made it.  It is incredibly easy and came together quickly.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Here is the recipe I used – it makes a big pot and I intend to freeze it.  It’s nice to have a ready made lunch/dinner option considering this upcoming week of hectic-ness.  ***I just noticed I forgot the 2 cups of water!  Ha!  I’ve only had a bowl right after I cooked it and it seemed like the right consistency.  Oh well!  Also, I used a can of diced green chili peppers and drained them a little.

Ingredients


How to make it


  • Brown the ground beef in a skillet over medium heat.
  • Drain off the fat.
  • In a large pot, combine the beef plus all the remaining ingredients, and bring to a simmer over low heat.
  • Cook, stirring every 15 minutes, for 2 to 3 hours.
  • Serve with shredded cheddar and a spoon of sour cream

I’m curious (and changing the subject) when you’ve taken time off from running, do you find it difficult to jump back in with your training plan?  I do think momentum plays a decent size role in my motivation and I feel like this has been trampled into submission this week.  I’m also basing this on my recent past with my depression level at the time so maybe this won’t be as big of an issue.

This hiccup in training is only a bit concerning.  While I know the first couple of runs back are going to be uncomfortable and I may not be jumping into my running tights with a fervor, I know I haven’t lost all of my running fitness and this setback can be remedied.  I believe it.

Last tidbit, I started falling asleep last night at 8:15 pm.  I slept off and on and never made it to my bed – my couch is crazy comfy!  While I don’t recommend sleeping during episodes of Law and Order, Criminal Intent (DISTURBING dreams, yo), I think I should go to bed at 8 pm more often.  I woke up this morning at 5:50 am; I never thought this was possible!

is that all?!

2 Responses to “I should be running a turkey trot right now”

  1. Danielle November 23, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    That cough and laryngitis has been really bad everywhere this year! Rest is the only thing you can do, so you made the right choice. I’m on week two, but luckily I only lost my voice for one week

    • amysrecipefordisaster November 26, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

      thanks for the validation! I needed to hear it… yep, I lost mine (mostly) for a week and now finishing the cough

Leave a Reply

