a cat dish, celery seed & cinnamon

27 Jan

Aside from my grocery shopping experience a few other things of note happened this weekend…

On Friday, I had a meeting with a bunch of undergrad and graduate students.  They ranged in ages from 19-25.  One student was sort of sitting in a corner and I said, “James, you should say, ‘nobody puts Baby in a corner'”.  Cue me laughing at my own joke and students all staring at me.  Every single one of them.  “You all don’t know what that’s from?”  Again with the blank stares.  It hurt my heart a bit – our youths have no culture!

Harry Potter marathon weekend.  This was a nice change from all of the murder and mayhem I’ve been watching on Investigation Discovery.  Since our cable was upgraded I now get this lovely channel along with a bajillion others.  For this tv gal, this is awesome.

I also watched some House Hunters.  One episode featured this couple who were very elitist.  Nothing “matched their style” and they literally said, “This is SO suburban.”  Turns head,   “oh look!  There’s the rain shower I wanted!”.

Even their realtor made fun of them pointing out that a rain shower is in fact a dreaded suburban detail. I think they drove me bonkers because of how condescending they were.

I finally did some laundry and the rolling suitcase trick worked wonders.  I was going to pick up the last load and decided to take my trash out as well since this was desperately needed.  Sure enough as I was almost there I went down hard!  I landed on my “saddlebag” area and tweaked my knee a bit.  Oh and the car of people driving by saw the whole thing!

The aches and pains aren’t terrible though.  Good thing I drink so much coffee (creamer) and eat yogurt, I’ve got some strong bones!

I also posted some items for sale.  I’m working on selling my bistro table, some dishes and then  some throw pillows to give away.  I’ve heard of a site where people trade and sell their gently used work out gear.  I need to find this as I have gear with tags on it!  If any of you are interested let me know and I will post some pics.

Oh and an INMATE called me on Saturday afternoon.  Why yes, a recording said I was getting a call from _____ (didn’t catch his name) who is an inmate from a jail in MI.  That was all I needed to hear and I hung up.  Sorry dude – hope I wasn’t your only phone call but NO.

My original plan was to run yesterday.  I plugged in my Kindle since there is no way I can run on a treadmill without being totally entertained (there is some firstworldproblem sarcasm here) and changed into my running shorts.  I needed to waste some time while it was charging and for some reason I jumped into organizing my spare room.  Clone Amy strikes again!  4 hours later and while I didn’t run, I did make some progress.  I was going through this shelf of clothing and I found a container of celery seed, one of cinnamon and a cat dish. Umm… I got nothing.

Not going to lie, it’s times like these that I wish I was more “normal”!

I couldn’t believe how much work I got done in that span of time!  Since today is a snow day(!!) I can get a run in along with doing more work on the room.  Yes, I am very proud of myself!

Do was your weekend?  Please tell me you have found random spices in your clothes closet too

4 Responses to “a cat dish, celery seed & cinnamon”

  1. lisa J January 27, 2014 at 5:37 pm #

    the group you sell gear on is a facebook group. I know you comment on my blog, however i think you use google connect which blocks email addresses so you can see them or respond to them. If you send me your email (lisarun2@gmail.com) I can add you to the FB group as well as answer some of your questions / comments you posed the other day

  2. lovinghomemade January 28, 2014 at 5:10 pm #

    Great post! Hope your knee is ok now. And wondering why you would keep kitchen ingredients in your spare room!!!

    • amysrecipefordisaster January 28, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

      Haha, I have no clue how the spices and cat dish ended up in there! My knee is definitely doing better – I think my pride was hurt worse! :)

Leave a Reply

