so you want to run, eh? ha! nope

16 Mar

My body mocked me last week with regards to my intentions to run.  I’m fairly certain I could hear its “I’ll show you” day after day.  Needless to say, I didn’t prove it wrong.

Do others get all jacked up with the time change?  I think I am finally starting to feel more alert today and that’s probably because I already took a nap.  I will say, my exhaustion last week was a perfect storm of time change, health, a crazy busy week at work (worked through lunches and late almost every night) and a total lack of determination on my part made running a far off concept.

at least I kept trying, yeah?

I think during these times, it’s important to just go easy on myself (or yourself).  Absolutely, there were times when I said some harsh words in my head about my dedication and abilities but then I realized this wasn’t helping either.  I need to chalk it up to a tough week and move into this week with a fresh attitude.  So this is what I am going to do.

I also made a pot of chili today using the same Wendy’s recipe I used before.  It’s really good and an easy meal for weeknights.  Last week, I had a peanut butter sandwich almost every night so it will be a nice change!  I keep reading more and more about meal planning.  I haven’t quite found a system that will work for me but I’m not giving up.  One of my friends has a family of five (one kiddie is 4 months old) and she feeds her family on $350 A MONTH! Whaaa?  And, she just bumped this up from $300.  Wow!  I saw her in the grocery store the other day and I asked her how she does it.  Meal planning.

my attempts at meal planning look a bit like this

Meal planning vexes me!  I also find it so impressive!  The good thing is, I can eat leftovers for days.  I have no problem eating the same thing (sometimes for both lunch and dinner).  It comes down to it being easy.  Hmm… I just realized this – the whole “whatever is easy” part.  This is a good foundation…  I think…

Alright, I’ve wasted your time enough today.  I want to go running today, really, I do.  I’ll see – my couch is like quicksand… a really comfy quicksand…

4 Responses to “so you want to run, eh? ha! nope”

  1. Traci March 18, 2014 at 8:13 pm #

    Meal planning is a mixed bag for me. I usually buy my staples such as produce, quinoa, chicken broth, beans, soups…and plan on making three specific dinners each week. If I plan MORE than that, everything goes haywire! Improvising with easy meals is great as long as they are simple, in my book.

    • amysrecipefordisaster March 19, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

      Oh this is a great idea! Since I’m very good with leftovers this works for a meal plan along with some lazy evenings. Thanks!!

  2. Meagan March 20, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    UGH! I try and am getting better, though I don’t think it’s saved me any money yet. Someday maybe!

    • amysrecipefordisaster March 20, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

      Yes, I think getting into the routine is the hard part. But then it can save money later… let’s hope…

Leave a Reply

