none of the sleep

14 Apr

I love this:

use the sleepThis last week my body and brain decided that sleep is for the weak and they were much to strong for it.  I tend to disagree but sometimes my body and brain go against my wishes.  Little brats!  The thing is, I really needed to get some sleep.  I was hosting a candidate and typically, candidates and employers like it when you can articulate the pros of your work place and answer questions.  Not to mention, this went on for five days and not catching z’s for this amount of time was taking a toll.

I’m not quite sure where this insomnia was coming from.  And I am not even sure if what I am experiencing even counts as insomnia.  Essentially, I would sort of doze but never fully be asleep.  Then I would have these weird surface-level dreams – the alarm going off every morning was so frustrating because I didn’t feel rested at all.

no sleepThursday, while hosting, there were times when I couldn’t even think of the right words I needed to say.  At the end of the evening (7:15 pm) I was pointing at some M&M’s that a student had and I couldn’t think of what they were called.  I ended up going to bed at 9:30 pm.  I was done.  Of course I woke up several times in the night – normal for me.  Since I like to find causes for things/ailments/happenings, I tried to pinpoint the culprit behind the lack of some REM cycles.  Here is what I came up with:

I get too hot when I sleep.  Waking up sweating kind of grosses me out and it’s been happening off and on since moving to my new apt.  In my old place, I lived several floors up so I could keep the windows open and had an efficient air conditioner.  Now I live on the ground floor and I need a new air unit.  I also think this lack of fresh air contributes to my ailing immune system.  I was sick this past weekend.  Again.

sooo hot!

Simon.  Okay, so I know this one is easier to fix because I could close the door on the little guy.  But I can’t – he paws at the door the whole night and he doesn’t really like this new apt.  Simon gets much more anxious and needs to be near me.  He then wakes me up typically around 4:30-5:30 am.  I do put him out of the bedroom and close the door at this time.  Simon’s body heat (approx 100* – this is normal!) also lends to me getting too toasty.

Bad dreams/nightmares.  I certainly don’t have night terrors and for that I am grateful.  However, I’ve had extremely vivid dreams since childhood and my epilepsy meds just increase these.  Unfortunately, these dreams aren’t rainbows and puppies.  They are fairly angsty and stressful.

Both my brother and mom had/have bouts of insomnia so maybe it’s genetic?  I think even if I only woke up once per night I would feel remarkably better.  I don’t foresee sleeping pills right now (seriously, I just can’t take more pills) so I’m looking for alternative methods.  On my list of things to try are a lighter blanket (duh Amy!), a new air unit (again, duh!), acupuncture, some massage to ease  stress, continued running, cutting some coffee out of my day (this is a double-edged sword since I start to droop in the afternoon) and a few other ideas I’ve found on pinterest.  And yes, attempting to go to bed earlier – maybe despite the punctuated sleep just being in bed longer might help?

Who knows…  Any suggestions for the sleep disturbed?  Last week was particularly bad but I always wake up at least 3-4 times a night.  Or is this normal?

6 Responses to “none of the sleep”

  1. Hannah April 14, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

    I have trouble sleeping too and the biggest thing I learned from my doc is if you wake up and can’t get to sleep then leave the bedroom – you need to train your brain to recognise that the bedroom is for sleeping only (well and the other thing typical of the bedroom variety ;-) ) rather than for lying around fretting. Go into the living room and sit on the couch and read a book or something for a while then go back to bed and try again. The other thing regarding stress is to move your clock from your bedside table across the room where you can’t actually see the time then you can’t wake up in the middle of the night and fret that you’ve only got x hours left until you need to get up for work! Wordy comment I know but I hope it helps!!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 15, 2014 at 10:05 pm #

      Thanks for the tips! I tried the getting up and moving into the living room last night. It definitely helped! Thanks again!

  2. Meagan April 15, 2014 at 3:59 pm #

    UGH! Hate having trouble sleeping. Hey- if you’re up in the middle of the night, there’s a decent chance I am too (thankyouverymuch, bailey). You can text me and we can have rando sleep deprived convos! FUN!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 15, 2014 at 10:05 pm #

      We should! Aww, Bailey – you should tell her she will regret not sleeping later!

  3. lovinghomemade April 16, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    I used to spend most of the night wide awake but over the years it has improved massively. Every now and then I go through bad phases and it always seems to be related to stressful times. Plus your body gets into habits. So if you wake up at 2am a couple of nights in a row, suddenly you are waking up at 2am every night and can’t get back to sleep for hours. I’m currently in the middle of one of those bad phases so I feel for you. The good news is that if you ever have kids you’ll be used to the sleep deprivation already!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 16, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Haha! A silver lining – I love it! I think I’m in a phase as well. I definitely need to try and break my body of these waking up habits. I broke the habit of napping in the afternoon so hopefully when some stress eases, I will be able to do the same. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

