goodness gracious…

23 Apr

Good gravy-Tuesday was a doozy.  The air was thick with anxiety!  Unfortunately, not kidding.

The morning was kind of an odd frenzy of activity in the office that seemed to breed angst.  Per my MO, I soaked up all of the stress & anxiety like a sponge.  I thought I was going to vomit at one point since this is also part of my MO when it comes to being overwrought with nerves.

it’s even a dino puking a rainbow – big win! I’m working on being positive so this sort of counts

BUT!  After I calmed down a bit (leaving for lunch can help with this) I realized something.  A few months ago I felt like this EVERY FREAKIN’ DAY!  I can’t believe it.  I mean, I recognized that I felt less shaky/panicked on the inside but somehow I pushed aside how it felt physically.  So while yesterday morning was unpleasant, I am happy at the strides I have made.  Yes, chemicals are part of the equation but so are some behavior modification & more exercise.  This feels good.

The rest of the day was busy.  I had a doctor’s appointment at 2pm & I was really proud of myself, as I got there 15 mins before my appt time.  I got to the front & said my name & appt time.  The clerk:  “umm, your appt. was at 1:15”.  Nooo!

I apologized profusely, felt like a jerk & apologized again.  They took pity on me & still fit me in between other patients.  I was very grateful.  Oh & they were kind about the whole thing as well.

I was relieved to see the end of the day.  Some quality time on the couch was necessary along with some deep breathing and meditation.  I’m not so hot on the meditation piece but I’m practicing.  Also, letting go of the stress of the day – the animal section of pinterest is always helpful with this.

so much adorableness!  this is a big year for sloths - I wonder if they realize?!

so much adorableness! this is a big year for sloths – I wonder if they realize?

2 Responses to “goodness gracious…”

  1. Meagan April 24, 2014 at 9:59 am #

    Oh no!!!! I did the same thing w/ a doc appointment once. I SWEAR I had the right time written down, but they SWORE it was an hour earlier. Argh! Oh well.

    Hope you’re feeling better. Hang in there! The end of the school year is ALMOST here! Then, please take a day off and come down and me and B’ll meet you at the outlet malls for an afternoon of shopping! I mean– you have to for ME… help a soon-to-be-unemployed girl out and give her something to do! :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 27, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

      I definitely will come down and visit soon! I’m looking forward our racing weeknd!

Leave a Reply

