apartment living

18 Jun

I have a bit of a rant on my mind…

Apartment living.  I’ve never NOT lived in some sort of apartment.  There are definite perks to this but I’m not going to focus on those today.  Seriously, what is a rant with all positive points?

1.  Remembering you have neighbors in very close proximity.  I admit, I’ve become an old man in terms of noise.  My patience is thin but I also don’t think my standards are THAT high.  I just don’t want to listen to blaring music at 3:30 am.  Or people yelling about how drunk they are – again, at 3:30 am.  To be perfectly honest, I would just appreciate the loud tunes ending at 10 pm.  Yep, I’m old.

this includes my hearing space

2.  Laundry.  Oh my gosh – this one drives me bonkers.  I’m already cranky about having to go to the  complex washer and dryer.  We have established this in previous posts.  Sunday I went to do laundry and put in two loads.  Both dryers were full but they only had 10 minutes left.  In 29 minutes (the time of the washing cycle) I headed back to get my clothes.  The dryers were still full.

Boo!  I lugged my giant bag of damp clothes, which seriously, weighed 10 tons, back to my apartment.  I also put in two more loads.  I went back 29 minutes later and the guy was just coming to get his clothes out of the dryer.

Guy:  “Are these yours” (pointing to the washers)

Me:  “Yes.”

Guy:  “Well I guess I can take my clothes out”.  Cue very passive aggressive sighing as he removed his clothes to a table so he could fold them.  Rude!  Now, I could see some aspects of his point if the clothes were still hot and he wanted them wrinkle free.  Even then though, when someone is waiting, take them quick-like to your apartment and fold them.  This guy?  They had been dry for over an hour!

3.  Children.  Let me first say I know kids cry and play loudly and romp about.  I have no problem with this and in fact completely expect it.  HOWEVER, when you never allow your kiddies to go outside the ruckus is 10 fold because the kids are going kind of nuts.  I wish I was joking.  Our apartments are 480 sq feet.  I can’t imagine living with 3 other people, much less being a kid who wants to move about.  Also, one of the kiddies who lives above me is the spawn of hades, completely exaggerated by the fact she is trapped in a small place.  I definitely feel sorry for these tykes.  P.S. this doesn’t apply to babies, they can’t exactly burn off steam – at least to my current knowledge.

4.  Fighting with your significant other.  Again, I get it – people fight.  I don’t have any expectation that everyone will live in bliss – especially when quarters are tight.  But screaming and yelling freaks me out when it’s continuous, hour after hour, night after night.  I don’t have any idea where couples should go to fight so I don’t have a solution for this.  I’m very aware of domestic violence and I’ve had to call the police before.  Scary.

These are the “crimes” against fellow apartment dwellers I can think of at the moment.  Trust me, I am not the perfect tenant but I try to mindful that I live in a community.  Breathe Amy…

4 Responses to “apartment living”

  1. Amy Jo June 18, 2014 at 8:25 pm #

    Oh Amy you are nicer than I for in the laundry room that gentleman that left his clothes in the dryer would have found them on the table I got no time for that

    • amysrecipefordisaster June 22, 2014 at 12:48 pm #

      Haha, this is the second time someone has told me I was being too nice this week. And you are right!

  2. ManagingMeagan June 20, 2014 at 11:22 am #

    I would have chucked his clothes too. Apartment living isn’t the most fun… but, at least you don’t have to mow your grass or pay crazy amounts to fix random shit that breaks!

Leave a Reply

