juice me

24 Jun

I briefly mentioned in my race recap that I’ve started a juice cleanse.  It’s been 10 days and the plan is 28 days long.  I’m working on not thinking that far ahead because even though I’ve reached double digit days, it’s still daunting.

it’s just my mind that isn’t!

The back story:  About a month ago, office mate told me he watched a documentary on this guy, Jason Vale and his program Super Juice Me, who took 8(ish) people to his retreat center and many of their ailments and/or weight issues improved.  Office mate said he thought of me with regards to some of my health concerns and that maybe juicing could help.  Then he told me he started the juice cleanse.  I was skeptical – it wasn’t that I doubted office mate but it seemed kind of far-fetched.  I often question juice cleanses and detoxes of various kinds because I feel like they are sold/touted as this amazing solution when in reality it’s short term.  Once it’s over, the weight or regular habits that brought on the toxins or whatever, resumes.

After 10 days I could start to see physical changes in office mate.  I asked him if he had weighed himself and he said he wasn’t planning on it until the end – killjoy.  Another few days later and others started to chime in on the physical changes.  Office mate explained he felt really good, had a lot of energy and it wasn’t as tough as he thought it would be.  I peppered him with questions the first week and then I ordered a juicer.  A week later I started my own juice cleanse.

The tough piece:

*I do miss food.  But in some ways, I miss the idea of food along with the convenience of a sandwich or yogurt.

I kind of miss chewing

*I get tired of juice.  A better way to explain it is, by the end of the day I feel like I’ve had a lot of liquids.  Because I have.

*I’m fairly lazy when it comes to cooking hence the appeal of the sandwich or yogurt ease.  Juicing isn’t hard by any means but there is prep.  Washing the fruits and veggies, cutting some of it and then washing the juicer pieces and blender.  If you have a dishwasher than your life is much easier.  Heck if I just had a garbage disposal life would be MUCH easier.

*The first week I had a lot of headaches and I was EXHAUSTED.  I’m pretty sure this was simply first week changes/detoxing but I didn’t watch the first week video so this is just a guess —> see?  I’m lazy.

*Ginger is part of many recipes and after trying to choke down a drink with it in it, I confirmed my hatred for the root.  Aside for a glass of Canada Dry every once in a while, there is no room for ginger in my beverages.

*I’ve run into a few road blocks – either I missed a couple of ingredients, or felt time crunched and didn’t make a blend.  Then I would skip those, which isn’t advisable.  This week I’m going to really focus on drinking all of them… after I go to the grocery store one more time.

*There is an element of feeling left out.  I’ve been lucky because office mate can offer some advice or whatnot and now there are a couple of others in the office who are thinking about it.  But the I did end up missing a dear friend’s birthday party because my system was still getting used to being bombarded by goodness and I was quitting food cold turkey.  My body missed my processed carbs!

Okay, this is getting long so I’m done for now.  I want to emphasize there ARE good pieces to this and I will highlight these tomorrow!  If there weren’t I absolutely wouldn’t still be doing it as I certainly like food a lot.  Not to mention, aside from running, I don’t voluntarily endure things I don’t like.  So, I would have junked this plan if I didn’t recognize and feel the positive changes.  More to come!

I promise there is a silver lining!

 

One Response to “juice me”

  1. Meagan @ Managing Meagan June 24, 2014 at 8:34 pm #

    I want details! What juice? How often? Etc?

Leave a Reply

