tiny house anyone?

5 Sep

I thought I would be able to re-enter the blog world and regular life last weekend… but that turned out not to be the case.  I thought maybe some time this past week – nope.  Finally, today I took the day off and this is how I feel

I may look a bit rough around the edges but see? There is hope on the horizon!

Jumping back into regular life isn’t easy.  Every September I go through it and I forget how much I crave a routine.  Whether it’s a regular running schedule, a clean apartment, actual clean clothes (and not just febreezed) and a normal amount of caffeine consumption (as opposed to the gallons I’ve been drinking), it all sounds fantastic!  And today is the first day I can make it all start.

During all of this chaotic time, I’ve become fascinated with the tiny house movement.  If you aren’t familiar, many a folk are choosing to downsize into very small abodes.  I’m talking 250 sq feet – heck, one person lives in 95 sq foot house!  Crazy!  This small is not something I would choose but there is something about this that appeals to me.  There is a great documentary on the as well.

I also like the idea of a yurt

For those of you who’ve been around here for a while, you may remember me griping about how small my current apartment is.  480 sq feet.  So how does this align with my current interest in tiny houses?  I like the idea of there being a place for everything.  Tiny houses by design and necessity have to be organized or they wouldn’t be livable.  I love the ingenious behind them – especially the romantic-esque lofts.  And yes, overall idea of it all.

see how cool and functional this is?

I’m starting to realize I could get my current digs a bit more likeable and functional.  I get extremely frustrated with the lack of organization here (my fault with all of my stuff) but also the lack of a place to put some of it.  There is a severe lack of shelving and closets here.  I recognize I can/need to dehoard but there is still a simple need for SOME shelving.  And counter space.  And perhaps some cupboards?

I would like a slightly bigger living space when I move next.  I’ve done enough pinterest-ing to also get some ideas about how to live large in a small space with creative decorating and organizing.  I also have a co-worker who loves to organize and would like to be professional organizer in the future.  She is going to help me!  And take before and after shots for her portfolio – I love it.  I get a free service and maybe I can help further her career.  I’ll post the pre and post pics here when it’s all done!

Maybe you can help?  Any tips for organizing small spaces? 

 

2 Responses to “tiny house anyone?”

  1. Margaret September 5, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

    I haven’t ever lived in *super* small spaces (just in typical 600 – 750 sq ft apartments), but I hate having stuff out on surface, I have to have places to put everything away!

    I think the biggest things are:

    (1) Make things multi-purpose, For example, don’t just have a coffee table, have an ottoman that opens up or table with drawers/shelves – provides the surface of a coffee table but also uses that same floor space for storage. Same with nightstands – don’t just have a surface, get something with drawers, and you might not even need an actual dresser in the room too.

    (2) Utilize vertical storage space. Like a hanging fabric shelves in a closet (that you can still store shoes underneath it, not taking up floor space), or in our current place with a tiny (built in 1948) kitchen we’re adding a large floating shelf above the stove for cookbooks, because we’re running out of cabinet space and I hate seeing stuff stored out on the countertops.

Leave a Reply

