marathon week has begun

14 Oct

*All cartoons are from Hyperbole and a Half.  I adore this blog.  And have cried from laughing so hard.

Yesterday.  Not the best of days…

I woke up late.  Actually, the first time I woke up, I was sittin’ pretty to run out to get my favorite coffee drink.  Then I hit snooze about 1/2 a dozen times & not only did coffee go out the window but so did being on time.

Not my favorite way to start marathon week.  Furthermore, I felt really crummy, my shower won’t drain, my anxiety was barking & I felt all kinds of out of sorts.  Really, I recognize these are all non-critical happenings and I wish I could throw up my hands with an “oh well” but my emotional investment is high *surprise*.

Part of the anxiety is marathon related.  Sunday is rapidly approaching & while I’m excited, I also have a real understanding of the pain I will be inflicting on my body.  That I PAID to inflict (hmm… unsightly visions of S&M popped in my head).  I’m also under no illusions that suddenly the running gods will bestow some great power to my legs.  Nope.  The strange runner in me is excited though.  I’m looking forward to the expo, the camaraderie of the other runners & other whole, “I’m never going to finish-I hate running-am I insane?” feeling that immediately evaporates with a medal around my neck.  So many emotions!

I will say, I had a dandy run on Saturday.  Considering the curious case of my non-compliant ankle, I’ve taken to running every other day to give it a bit of a rest.  I also went down & traded a pair of shoes in for a pair of Brooks PureFlow. Moment of digression: I bought a pair of PureFlows back when they first came out.  Loved them.  I bought them too small however, so they retired a bit early.  Fast forward through a gazillion different pairs of shoes later & I went back to them.  Saturday night PureFlows, the treadmill & I had a date & it went swimmingly.  6 miles.  I was certain I had only gone 4 then looked & magically I had already hit 5.  Then SIX!So this run helped.  I have a few more planned for this week-nothing over 5 miles.  I’m hesitant to refer to this as “tapering” since my overall training has sucked.  I’ll just call it my last ditch effort to avoid crumbling into a pile of mushy goo at mile 16.  I’m keeping my expectations low and working toward a more upbeat attitude (isn’t this obvious??).  This is a big marathon-I get to cross into Canada over an amazing bridge & run through a bunch of different parts of Detroit.  I feel a certain pride for (With? In?) Detroit despite being a relatively new Michigander.  It does have a number of issues BUT I’m pleased to be part of an event that celebrates the city rather than tearing it down.

Maybe there’s a bit of sunshine in me yet.

Ok, I have more on my mind but that’s it for now.  Lots of marathon talk this week-so please prepare yourself!  Oh, I did use my lunch hour to secure some delicious coffee.  I could sort of keep my eyes open for a few more hours.

this is how I felt all day

Leave a Reply

