another bandwagon – the whole30

30 Oct

Although I’ve stood on the rooftops & proclaimed my love for all things grain & coffee, I decided to take some serious measures to get to the bottom of my stomach issues.  Not feeling well for over 6 months really encourages exhausting as many options as possible.

I’m on day 6 of the Whole30.

I absolutely never expected to partake in this form of punishment eating yet here I am.  I’m still processing my thoughts so this may seem a little jumbled but here is what I have so far:

1.  I miss my creamy, yes, sugary coffee.  I miss it a lot.  I’ve managed to find some substitutions but so far they absolutely do not measure up-at all.

2. My emotional connection to food is alive & thriving.  My co-whole30 friend (Emily-bless her heart) asked me if I felt empowered for not giving in to temptation.  A bit of me does but a part of me doesn’t because I still feel sad about not having my lovely coffee drink.  I got out of bed for that business!  It brightened my morning!  But perhaps this isn’t the healthiest relationship…

say it ain’t so!

3.  Some of the Whole30 propaganda is a kind of off-putting.  There is an elitist attitude that comes across in their website along with post-ers to the question forum.  I don’t care for it.  And I have no intention of becoming this type of food/health snob.  It’s also one of the reasons I was hesitant to try it in the first place.

4.  However, the sugar cravings are real.  I can’t tell you how many times in the last 5 days I’ve wanted to reach for a “treat” when feeling stressed.  Sugar “calms” me (albeit a temporary salve) so to have to deny myself is tough.  I knew it but didn’t KNOW it.

5.  I can feel a difference in my waistline already.  I don’t feel as “puffy” & the bloat has left me.  This has resulted in somewhat looser pants-win.

yes, this expresses my joy quite well

6.  Grocery shopping takes me to a whole new level of despair.  I hate it already & now that I need to scrutinize every label it’s even more time-consuming.  Whine.

7.  I went to my first meat butcher shop yesterday!  It was pretty cool.  The pork & meat were all locally grown & grass fed & the prices are better or on par with the grocery store.  I will be going back-even when I’m done with these 30 days.

8.  I drink a truckload of water.

9.  I do like some kind of snack after dinner.  Last night the munchies hit me over the head with a sledgehammer.  I ended up overindulging in pistachios.  So much so that today my tongue feels kind of raw from all of the salt.  Not one of my finer moments!

oh yeah, I miss cheese, too

10.  I do hope it helps change some of my current habits.  I realized how much I count on foods of convenience – peanut butter sandwiches, yogurt, whatever else is quick & I don’t have to put a lot of thought into.  I kind of quit cooking after my mom died & now it’s become a habit.  This has forced me to cook meals and plan them in advance.  Right now it’s really annoying.  I’m hoping that will change.  Or at least I will get better at prepping meals for the week.

This is the start of my thoughts.  I’m not sure if the pros are more prevalent or the cons.  I do know the other day I met a friend & we ended going to a coffee shop for the meeting.  I had to watch these beautiful coffee drinks pass in front of me.  That was simply too much pressure for me!  I won’t be going through that again for a little while-it tested me!  I passed but not gracefully!

I just liked this one!

More to come in the upcoming weeks.  Happy Halloweenie!

One Response to “another bandwagon – the whole30”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. less is more | Recipe for Disaster - November 17, 2014

    […] are mixed on this Whole30 deal.  If you would like to read what I have so far, my posts are here, and here.   I refer to the timeline quite a bit on the Whole30 site as I found it to be fairly […]

Leave a Reply

