sickness abound – done with 2014

2 Jan

As I mentioned in my last post, it was quite a week.  Actually, the last two weeks weren’t all diet 7UP and the Mindy Project.  If there was a cave anywhere close to me that had cable and a bed, I would have taken up residence there.

Getting sick on Christmas is the ultimate suck.  Okay, probably not the ultimate but it was lousy nonetheless.  Some kind of plague descended upon my lungs on Dec 23rd & kept their foothold until Dec 29th – and those were the really bad days.  It was yucky.  I was grumpy, exhausted, missed out on Christmas festivities & felt like hell.  I went through a bottle of cough syrup in a day & a half.

my attempt at holiday spirit on Christmas day.

my attempt at holiday spirit on Christmas day.

Thankfully, I started to feel about better RIGHT in time to prep for my endoscopy & colonoscopy. Yep, 2014 didn’t want me to go gently into that good night-oh no, 2014 wanted to be remembered!  I mentioned a while back that the nurse giving me my instructions for the prep told me I could do all of this on the 30th, when I was flying across the country.  He was/is delusional. Office mate had the joy (misfortune) of taking me to my appt at 6:30 am and hang out until I was done at 9:30 am.  I told the doctor to tell him my insides are all pretty – my doc obliged.  Hopefully, this eased some of office mate’s discomfort when he got to hear about my innards.

I had my last meal at 2pm on the 29th & then had to fast until the 31st at 10am.  I was HUNGRY! I can’t decide if being in an airport setting/traveling for 12 hours was helpful or not.  In one sense, I couldn’t just get up & be taunted by treasures bestowed in the fridge.  On the downside, the smell of french fries wafts through the airports like the siren’s call to sailors.

I made it though.  The same nurse who told me I should do the prep while on the plane, also told me I would bounce back from the anesthesia by the evening.  Days later, I was still feeling groggy. My dad said this was normal considering all my body had gone the last couple of weeks.  I’m sure some of it was jet lag & time change & my never-ending sickness… See what I mean about the 2014 vendetta?!

is it possible to punch a year in the face? do years have faces?

Actually, based on the accounts of my friends & fb statuses all over, everyone was sick over this Christmas season.  So, I should stop complaining… But I won’t.

my fam sprayed this in whatever room I was in - my nephew actually sprayed me.

my fam sprayed this in whatever room I was in – my nephew actually sprayed me.

I’m quite happy 2014 is over.  Other than my bright & shiny Dopey moment right at the start, the rest of the year was unpleasant.  Doctor visits galore, lots of sickness & all kinds of introspection left me exhausted.  What good did come out of this year?  Plenty of happy moments for my friends & family that I got to be a part of.  I figured out a gluten sensitivity that I’m slowly working to incorporate into my daily eating in the form of the FODMAP diet.  I’m learning to read labels-as in REALLY read them & somehow, magically, I’ve kept this blog up & running.  Ha! I even kinda-sorta kept myself up & running!  Oh wait… dairy has turned on me – jerk.  I got coffee from a 3 different coffee shops while in WA with nonfat milk all three times just to make sure.  Yep, my stomach recoiled and I got to sit there hurting.  Lesson learned – x3.

it’s taunting me with it’s jaunty dance

2015 is going to be a year of big changes.  I’m on the road to taking more control of my health.  I have doubts all of this testing is going to lead to some sort of cure but managing it is my prime focus.  There is a trip to Paris in my future for my brother’s wedding.  And I’m slowly dehoarding & looking at some life changes-I even wrote a letter to Santa asking for a husband.  Think it will work?!  I went to a hypnotherapist (more on this soon!) and learned some really helpful stress management techniques.  So while I’m not making resolutions, I’m creating strategies to feel more fulfilled and healthy – decent concept in my mind.

 

One Response to “sickness abound – done with 2014”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle January 5, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

    Sure hope you are feeling back to normal! Happy New year!

Leave a Reply

