sloth + me = a kinship

3 Jan

This was a big year for the sloth.  Well, I should qualify – I have no idea if it was a big year for any particular sloth but generally, they saw a lot of play in the interweb world.

They had memes:

They had gifs:

this just made me laugh

Having neither memes nor gifs myself, I consider this some decent play.  Even if you don’t like to jump on trends or aren’t into sloth fandom, I do believe, somewhere in the cockles of your heart, there is a soft spot for my friend the sloth.

Now, I’m going to be bold here and explain that I loved the sloth even before it’s popularity.  You see, I can be lazy.  As a youngster, my family often referred to me as a sloth.  I have a sloth beany baby and to remind my dad of the good ol’ days, I made him a sloth magnet this Christmas.  While I think initially my parents thought being compared to a sloth would get my buns moving, I quickly embraced the comparison and it was no longer an insult.  And no, it didn’t get my buns moving.

My sloth-like habits are in full swing this week.  Partly because I’ve had quite the week and partly because I see no point in wasting my vacation on doing things.  Shower today?  Eh… Leave my apt?  Why?  Get of the couch?  I see no point.  And getting up before 9 am just sounds like torture.

this is me attempting to get up but seeing no point

Nuturing my inner sloth will make it a rough reentry on Monday into the work world (yes, I realize this makes me sound elitist and like a giant brat) and it does induce a bit of trepidation.  Guess I need to simply suck it up.

Going back to work also means leaving this little guy to cuddle on his own (sad face).

cuddly simonI recognize many others out there have taken 2015 by the horns: “Make resolutions – YEAH!  Start achieving resolutions – HELL YEAH!  ATTACK ALL THE RESOLUTIONS – F*^% YEAH!”.  This is fantastic – I admire all of you!  Me?  Well, see the  above picture of the cat and my sloth self-comparison.  I do have some ideas about what I want to accomplish this year but I haven’t figured out the details just yet.  Maybe next week?  Maybe not – going back to work is going to require a nap or two.

4 Responses to “sloth + me = a kinship”

  1. Fallon @ Slacker Runner January 4, 2015 at 2:22 am #

    I love being sloth-like, that sounds awesome! If I could sleep until 9 every day, I would be so happy.

    • amysrecipefordisaster January 4, 2015 at 6:36 pm #

      It really is the perfect time to wake up. If I have to get a job with a 6:30 am wake-up call, I’m in trouble.

  2. piratebobcat January 6, 2015 at 1:55 pm #

    Ha, enjoy your rest! I’m jeally.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sickness abound – done with 2014 | Recipe for Disaster - January 5, 2015

    […] I mentioned in my last post, it was quite a week.  Actually, the last two weeks weren’t all diet 7UP and the Mindy […]

Leave a Reply

