so much room for activity!

22 Jan

One week ago today, I had my stomach follow-up.  Two of the recommendation biggies were exercise more and follow the GERD diet.  I’ve had moderate success with the GERD diet, and today marks the 1 week anniversary of only having ONE cup of coffee a day – YAY!

I’m a beast in training

Now where I’ve been even more successful is with the working out piece.  Listen to this:  last week I worked out 4 times.  This one is exciting folks.  I can’t remember the last time I hit 4 days.  At first I felt guilty because it has been so long since this happened and then I hit myself upside the head and replaced it with loads and loads of pride.

Last Tuesday I swam for 37 mins.  Thursday, Saturday and Sunday I ran/walked on my pal the treadmill.  I’m even typing this with a smile on my face.

This week, I’ve had some success as well.  Tuesday night I swam for 40 minutes.  I worked on my stroke and kicking and let me tell you, I was wiped out after it.  I did swim faster, which is always a cool thing but my endurance is iffy so my heart was a beatin’.  After my swim session, I came home and knocked out (I use that term loosely as it was HARD) 3 miles on the treadmill.

I know.  Two works in the same day.  I checked the mirror to make sure it was still me.

I will say, I was exhausted yesterday.  I had to work late so I didn’t swim nor did I run.  Rather, I ate way too many servings of Chicago style popcorn.  Yet another form of popcorn crack – take my word for it.  I wanted to stop but I could.not.do.it.

I demolished that popcorn… not quite like this though… next time

Tonight is another round of swimming and running.  I know it’s pushing my fitness in a positive way.  The other major benefit?  It’s been an emotionally exhausting week (see emotionally indulging in popcorn above) and at the end of my swim, the overwhelming sense of anxiety had dissipated by leaps and bounds.  I didn’t even realize it until about 2 hours after I was finished.  It’s making me a believer in this whole meditative exercise choice.

swimming and me = besties

As mentioned, the emotional roller coaster has, of course, had an effect on my tummy.  I decided to try to reintroduce a few things to my diet in regards to the FODMAP diet and this was a disaster.  Last weekend I was learning/trying to accept my conflicting new diets and now I need to figure out to implement them.  Spreadsheet world here I come!

I haven’t figured out if Friday will be a swim day or not but I think I might need it.  Running will be high on the agenda for the weekend as I need to push past this 3 mile business.  I need to add some mileage in order not to crawl across the finish line in this impending 8k… which is 2 weeks away – EEK!

Leave a Reply

