tasty energy bites – I need one stat

29 Jan

Today I’m feeling all kinds of out of sorts and lethargic.

Here is what I’ve done so far to battle these feelings:

1.  Drink a 32 oz coffee (not super either diet approved)

2.  Took a 20 min nap during lunch.

3.  Drank 7 oz of hot chocolate (I’m losing track as to whether or not this is diet approved)

4.  Walked around outside.

5.  Was somewhat successful in being productive today.

None of these helped.

I’m still debating whether or not to do some miles on the treadmill.  I’m guessing it will aid in my feeling blah but the energy it takes to just change my clothes sounds like too much.  Then there are the two eggplants sitting in my fridge that are on their last little eggplant legs and I don’t want to lose them.  They need and want to be eggplant patties!  How about the fact that it is FREEZING outside and my body temp won’t regulate itself.  Of course… running would help this.

this looks like a good compromise

*Sigh*

Instead I will post this recipe for these very tasty energy bites.  Yesterday, we had a presentation from a nutrition education counselor in our meeting.  He brought us said yummies and I was a bit skeptical at first.  I should not have been.  Seriously, make these and eat them – your tummy/taste buds will appreciate you!

Energy Bites:

1 cup Old Fashioned Oats (I bought gluten-free)

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup of honey

1 cup of coconut flakes

1/2 cup ground flaxseed

1/4 cup sliced almonds

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

1 tsp vanilla

Mix it all in a bowl.  Let the mixture chill in the fridge for 30-45 mins.  Once chilled, roll into bite size balls and EAT THEM!

Store them in an air tight container in the fridge.

***I bought dried blueberries instead and will use some pecans as they don’t seem to bother my stomach.  I haven’t decided about the honey – it’s a no-go on FODMAP so maybe I will 1/2 the amount called for?  I didn’t have any troubles yesterday so not sure yet… my life is full of such decisions!

Tomorrow is another day!  With the power of these treats I will prevail!

4 Responses to “tasty energy bites – I need one stat”

  1. Jane January 30, 2015 at 3:00 pm #

    Those bites sound ball-tastic. I was just thinking I should make some of those. It’s clearly a sign.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. thursday randomness & your opinion please | Recipe for Disaster - February 5, 2015

    […] still chowing down on the energy balls I posted about a few days ago.  I mentioned I was only going to do 1/2 of the honey and this was a […]

Leave a Reply

