wellness update week 2

1 Feb

Snow day!  It was called last night at 7 pm.  This is huge.  Usually, if there is a snow day called I get the notification at 5 am because they wait to make sure there is no possible way to stay open.  That should give you a hint of the giant chunk of snow that fell.  As my dear friend said, “it’s the universe gift to you for your birthday!”  Good omen for a good year?

Anyway, we are here to talk wellness from this past week.

Mind

The first part of last week was pretty stressful.  I did some tapping & was pleased to see it helped.  The days went by quickly as I had twice the number of meetings during the week as before.  I also felt really productive this week, which is always nice.

check this out - an empty to do list!

check this out – an empty to do list!

Friday was an anxious morning.  I had bad dreams the night before & didn’t get to see some of my usual suspects who help ease some of it.  Instead, I broke down to office mate within 5 minutes of him coming to the office.  Don’t you wish you could share an office with me?!

A big mood booster mid-week was a yummy dinner with a dear friend!  Nothing like good food & good talk.

Last, the whole birthday thing… It’s looming (tomorrow!!) & filling my mind with all kinds of doubts, big plans, angst, & being grateful to be around to see this day again.  However, it dawned on me that I’m now officially old enough to have a midlife crisis.  An actual MID-LIFE crisis-whaaa?!?!

Body

I worked out 5 days last week! I have no idea when the last time this happened.  Years?!  Monday was 3.5 miles-3 on the treadmill & a 1/2 mile around campus.  Tuesday was the same scenario/mileage.  Remember?  I don’t do Monday work outs.  Eww-gross.  So, my actions were worthy of these honorable mentions.  Wed, dinner & Thursday was another rest day.  I had no juice in the tank.  Friday looked to be the same-I was even in my running skirt but the couch was so inviting & Simon so snuggly.  BUT I made it, for 2 miles.

Science experiment: see the details here.  I followed through.  Announcing it to you all was a big help, office mate knew & wanted an update & my sister called to get some details.  Saturday-5 miles & most of those were running.  I put 1/2 of my running clothes on straight-away, only drank 1/2 of my coffee & then magically enough was on the tready.  My stomach seemed to do pretty well with this plan.  I was hungry afterward & downed 2 hard-boiled eggs quickly.  Too much for the ol’tum for a couple of hours.  I was really productive for the rest of the day, too.  Laundry, dishes, kitchen cleaning, energy bite making, Old Navy run & vacuuming.

Sunday.  I definitely had less enthusiasm for the experiment & I drew out my 1/2 cup of coffee for longer than I should’ve!  Nevertheless, as I was in 1/2 of my running gear, I got on the treadmill.  I wasn’t feeling good enough for running, so I walked 5 miles instead.  I did feel better after the walking session. And it made 19 miles for the week!  Wahoo!  I’ve made some good progress the last 3 weeks: 7 miles, 10 & now 19. I’m pleased.  31 miles for January!

The experiment was a success.  I’m going to give it a go for the next few wkends to see if this is real change and a real help to my health.  Yep, I did learn something in those bio classes – repeat those experiments.

No swimming though, as I’d hoped.  Part of it was I just too cold to want to get all wet in a pool.  Then there is this 8k on Saturday.  So I concentrated on running.  I also did better with following my combo diets so while I don’t feel excellent it was much better than the week prior.  Progress?  Better follow-through?  I’m playing it safe for a while in regards to food-apparently gut healing takes some time.  Must heal the tummy!!

2 Responses to “wellness update week 2”

  1. Jane February 3, 2015 at 3:19 pm #

    Nice workout week! And happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

