the big birthday

4 Feb

thanks beautiful man

Here we are… my birthday.

For me, my birthday is essentially a version of Jan. 1.  I make all kinds of resolutions/plans since I’m rehashing the past year anyway.  Resolutions isn’t exactly a fair word since I’ve given these up a few years ago.  But still, it makes me think about what I want for my year.  And this helps define my purpose for the next 365 days.

Yesterday (my actual birthday) was a really busy day at work.  We gave tours to perspective students and I worked a table from noon-4 pm.  The highlight of this was the caf offers these oh so delicious cookies.  Seriously, they are my absolute favorite.  They are filled to the brim with gluten and sugar but I decided to throw that aside for my birthday treat.  I’m sure I’ll pay for it but LOOK

#worthit

#worthit

The frosting is perfect – the fondant W?  Nope – that hits the wayside.  For dinner, I was off to Red Robin.  I’ve been craving a burger and fries and they have the best fries ever!  I also really like their gluten-free hamburger buns.  I got silly full with french fries, campfire sauce and a birthday beverage.  I’m not kidding – I brought home 3/4 of my burger and more fries.  AND 3 containers of campfire sauce <–totally addicted.

I also came home to a lovely snuggle buddy

I also came home to a lovely snuggle buddy

Work out update, I ran/walked 3 miles on Monday.  I didn’t get right up and get on the tready, I lazed around for the day, watched some Parks and Rec, Super Natural and ate an undercooked waffle.  Seriously, snow days are MEANT to be enjoyed no matter that was a partial work day.  I still got them miles done (along with some cleaning) because I have this dandy renewed sense of motivation.  The miles were a struggle, I’m guessing it was from the 4th day in a row on the treadmill.  Most likely not a lot for many but since I’m still in the “getting back into it” phase, I was feeling a bit shin splinty.

Anyway, it was a better birthday than I anticipated.  Not because I thought it would be a bad day per say, my friends and family are/were wonderful.  But I thought I would have the birthday blues.  However, I realized I DIDN’T feel as down in the dumps about being a year older (mostly – I mean, c’mon, it still freaks me out somewhat) rather I have a good feeling about the year…

to me! I mean if this doesn’t inspire a good year, what would?!

12 Responses to “the big birthday”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle February 4, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!!! Sounds like it was a great day!!! (I love RR fries too…so much so I have to avoid going there at all costs because I can’t stop eating them!)

    • amysrecipefordisaster February 5, 2015 at 2:32 pm #

      Yes, the fries are definitely a special treat. Not to mention they are ENDLESS – this is what my heaven looks like!

    • amysrecipefordisaster February 8, 2015 at 3:34 pm #

      haha, I completely understand! Thanks!

  2. Fallon @ Slacker Runner February 4, 2015 at 12:23 pm #

    Happy birthday!!!! That cookie looks amazing!!

  3. piratebobcat February 4, 2015 at 3:11 pm #

    Happy birthday! You’ll have a great year!

  4. Rachel February 4, 2015 at 4:49 pm #

    Happy Birthday Amy! I hope you had a wonderful day. I kid you not, I was sitting next to your Edgerton boyfriend last night at the bar. He’s everywhere! :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster February 8, 2015 at 3:33 pm #

      Ha! He is everywhere! Such a fun memory! And thank you for the birthday wishes!

  5. Jane February 4, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

    Fondant is just not good! Sounds like you had a fun birthday! Glad you got your fries ;)

Leave a Reply

