struggle bus friday

6 Feb

Great scott – trying to wake up and get out of bed today was extremely difficult.  Like stupid difficult.  The kicker of it all was I was in bed and asleep by about 10:20 pm last night.  My sleep tracker did say I only got 3 hrs and 56 mins of restful sleep.  Unfortunately, this is the most “restful sleep” I’ve gotten in a night all week.  I’m no expert but perhaps this is a reason for my lethargy?!

Even worse, last night, I came home changed into my running clothes and sat on the couch to digest my energy bites and a banana before running.  I finally got off the couch but only to put my sweatpants on.

No running for me.  It’s the third day in a row so I really don’t have a choice but to run tonight because…

I have a race tomorrow.

It’s the first race I’ve done since a Turkey Trot back in Nov.  I’m not kidding, part of me is wondering if I even remember how to race.  I mean, I know it involves running so that’s probably all I need to worry about.  Well, that and dressing for 20* weather – could be important, too.

I don’t have any expectations of this 8k.  It’s a distance I’ve never run, located in a place I’ve never been and with lots of ice.  We need to leave at 6:30 am for the 2.5 hr drive and 10 am start.  I recently purchased some Bolthouse Farms juices and protein coffee drinks.  This will be my pre-race fuel/coffee beverage.

I purchased these along with 3 protein drinks including the salted caramel coffee one for the morn.

I purchased these along with 3 protein drinks including the salted caramel coffee one for the morn.

Then I’m just going to run.

After that we’ll be chowing down on some fried chicken at an establishment that has been touted as MI most “iconic” restaurant, the Bavarian Inn… where they are known for their fried chicken?  I don’t get it either.  A trip to a Frankenmuth Brewery, to Bronner’s – not on my have to do list but I’ve been told I need to see it.  I’m not the tour guide, just a tourist.  Then any other place that catches our fancy.  I’m looking forward to it.

So there you go.  Oh and I caved and had a second, albeit small, coffee this afternoon.  There was no hope – my eyes and brain needed fuel.

5 Responses to “struggle bus friday”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle February 6, 2015 at 4:37 pm #

    Ugh, I am with you…although I don’t have a sleep tracker, I am 100% confident I don’t get more than an hour or two of sleep each night, despite going to bed by 13:30-11 each night with a 6 am wake up!! Hugs!!! Good luck on your race!! XO

  2. Fallon @ Slacker Runner February 6, 2015 at 6:04 pm #

    I so overslept this morning! Oops. That stone fruit juice looks pretty good, I may have to look for that one. Good luck at your race!!

Leave a Reply

