wellness update wk 3

9 Feb

I considered not writing this post as I didn’t make a whole lot of progress with my wellness mission this past week.  But set-backs are normal and I want to make sure I’m being honest with myself more than anything.

Mind:

Yesterday I had some serious anxiety.  I didn’t jump back into my experiment and sat around for a long while.  During this time, I checked out prices for airline tickets to Paris, considered and debated some thoughts for my future and then tried to imagine the details of said thoughts and possible plans.  For instance, what if I decide to move back to WA?  Do you know how much coordination this would take?  The details of getting Simon there alone started making me feel all panicky.  It didn’t help that I was doing nothing but watching tv so my mind was kind of numb and had plenty of room for anxiety.

he is a beast in the car but a cutie

he is a beast in the car but a cutie

Last week did have some perks.  I really thought my birthday would throw a major wrinkle into my week but aside from some eating overdoses, mentally, I felt pretty good.  I mentioned this last week and even a few days later, I’m not experiencing any “I’m so old, what am I going to do?!” thoughts and feelings.  Well, minus some of the ones listed above but those have been around for a while now.

I need to work on getting more sleep this week because I know this played a role in the days when I was more nervous than necessary.

Body

Ummm… fell off the wagon a bit with regards to working out.  Okay, I fell off the wagon pretty hard.  This is one area where I REALLY didn’t want to come clean because I feel some guilt – which is silly but I felt it all the same.  I know it happens but I only worked out 3 days.  Monday (again, a yay!), Friday and Sunday.  None of these even felt very productive or all that great.  And again, no swimming.

yeah, I didn’t get anywhere with my fitness this week

My eating also jumped the tracks.  Birthday dinner and a couple of treats, which I don’t really count.  But I had enough Red Robin to last me two more days and I certainly took advantage of this.  I didn’t really cook anything either so as I’m typing this I am not even sure of what I ate.  I did find a couple of ready-made meals I can turn to in a pinch made by Blake’s (such a tasty pot pie!) and Udis.  I find this helpful even though I need to make sure I don’t turn to these all that often.  It’s pricey!

I mentioned the lack of sleep deal, which was probably also influenced by my lack of working out.  The thing is, I had an unexpected day off (Snow day!) and then I was sick in the middle of the week and had the afternoon off.  I don’t know, my health felt all kinds of messed up this past week.

Typically, I like to include some ways in which I was successful but with regards to my physical health I can’t remember a whole lot of redeeming moments. Oh well, maybe that’s why Mondays roll around.  Wait!  I salad for lunch three days last week!  I do realize I can’t/won’t make the best choices all of the time so I’m not beating myself up all that much, just stating the truth.

So here’s to the start of a new week!  I’m traveling to Chicago for a work event on Tuesday and we are eating at The Cheesecake Factory.  I’ve found a couple of items I can eat but I PROMISE you I will bring back a piece of cheesecake.  I will consider it a “win” if I only bring back one piece!

must stay strong in the realm of all that is cheesecake deliciousness!

4 Responses to “wellness update wk 3”

  1. Jane February 9, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    I try to take my wellness day by day myself, otherwise I stress out fast. Have fun in Chicago! And enjoy that cheesecake! :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster February 12, 2015 at 4:38 pm #

      This is a good idea – maybe if I do the day by day approach it won’t feel overwhelming.

  2. Fallon @ Slacker Runner February 10, 2015 at 2:20 am #

    I’ve never been to the Cheesecake Factory, I admit it sounds amazing! Birthday weeks don’t count right? All workouts missed and extra meals are ok, right? Hmmm, maybe I celebrate wrong. Have a good trip!

    • amysrecipefordisaster February 12, 2015 at 4:37 pm #

      You’re RIGHT! Birthday weeks don’t count – you aren’t celebrating wrong at all. Thanks for putting me right!

Leave a Reply

