vitamin D

10 Mar

At my last back adjustment, I was given the, “you will most likely be able to run after this week”.  That means this week.  I was told that I could walk all I wanted.

Poor transition:  Last week was silly.  I’m not quite sure why it was so trying and I feel kind of guilty about moaning and groaning about it since I can’t pinpoint what my deal was.  Nevertheless, when the weekend hit, I was all, “No people or real pants allowed”.  I stuck to this.

HOWEVER, I did walk this weekend!!  Wahoo!  Sunday I even went outside!  I gave up my mole-person status for about an hour and high tailed it around my neighborhood.  Since I will be able to run soon, I figured getting outside was a good idea.  Not to mention it was about 40* and there was some sun.  It was great.

The walk went pretty well.  My legs don’t remember things like hills and slanted sidewalks so it was a good reminder.  I haven’t walked or ran outside (for exercise) since Nov. and I’ve missed it.  Funny thing, I’ve said before that I’m not a person who LOVES to exercise.  But when I started up again in Jan after being sick for forever, I really appreciated it.  Sure, I put it off but it felt good to be active.  Now, I am eagerly anticipating getting back to running.  Of course it helps that spring is springing but I also feel the urge to train again.  It’s been some time since I felt this way and it’s a great feeling.

Other than soaking up the vitamin D on Sunday, things around these parts have been busy.  I kind of feel as though I’m behind and what should be a catch up week (it’s spring break here) is now suddenly packed to the gills.  The silver lining?  Next Friday I’m leaving for a work trip to New Orleans!  I’ve never been there.  I will be eating so much!  Oh and of course doing work things.  That’s probably important.

this is how excited I am about eating all of the culinary loveliness

Last on this list of this very discombobulated (spell check doesn’t like this word so it is probably spelled incorrectly) post, is I made the cottage pie this past weekend.  I’m not kidding when I say that on Sunday I did NOT want to spend the time to cut the veggies, steam the squash, brown the meat and then cook all of this.  To be honest, it was a bit labor intensive (by my standards of lazy cooking) but it turned out to be so worth it.  I need to adjust my seasonings for the next time around as I frankensteined a couple of different recipes to accommodate my little brat of a stomach and it seems to be missing… something… I still don’t know what.  The bacon really shines though and I might just add more on top of the leftovers – you know, as a garnish!  I also added some other veggies and some potatoes so I should have considered this when spicing this puppy up.  Again, it is good and makes great leftovers.

Okay, over and out.  Today I’m working late and hoping I can hop on the tready when I get home later tonight.  I’ll see how I’m holding up from this long day.

Do you mix up a variety of recipes?  How do you adjust spices?  I need advice!

5 Responses to “vitamin D”

  1. piratebobcat March 10, 2015 at 7:38 pm #

    Nice! You gotta love some natural vitamin D. It’s been so yucky here lately, that when the sun came out on Saturday for a while, everyone seemed to instantly get in a better mood!
    OK, New Orleans. My fave city. If you need suggestions of places to go, please email me: piratebobcat@gmail.com

  2. Fallon @ Slacker Runner March 12, 2015 at 12:45 am #

    Sunshine is awesome! I have to say that a “no pants” weekend sounds kind of awesome. Might not fly with my roommates though, ha! Bacon is yummy on everything. :)

    • amysrecipefordisaster March 12, 2015 at 11:02 am #

      Haha, luckily my cat doesn’t mind the no real pants – I think he likes sweatpants just as much!

Leave a Reply

