trying not to suck at running

17 Apr

I was planning to run yesterday evening.  Unfortunately, work took a different turn and running was no longer in the cards.  3 miles were still logged but I needed/wanted a few more.  Now I have to get 23 miles in the next three days in order to hit my 37.5 mile weekly goal.

if only my apt was bigger!

I realize that 37.5 miles seems a bit arbitrary but I have a few reasons to strive for this.

1.  I want to hit 150 miles for the month.

2.  I have a 10k coming up the first weekend of May and I would like to NOT suck.  This is the same race event where I ran my first 1/2 marathon.  They added the 10k in the last couple of years but work has kept me from being able to participate.

3.  I decided to sign up for this really stupid thing.  Wait, it’s not stupid – in fact it’s awesome.  However, I’m not sure if it was smart for ME to sign up.  I signed up for the Run/Walk 2,015 in 2015.

I know.

So, I’m behind.  I mean, this isn’t unusual for any area of my life, much less the running deal.  A few snags include, starting late (they accepted registrations through all of Jan so I only hit 19 miles for the month) and then my silly back injury that kept me sidelined for about 3 or 4 weeks.  Oh yes, there is my natural laziness to factor into the equation.  There are some people who have already reached 900 miles!  What?!  Crazypants!  When you signed up you had the option of ordering the medal to go along with it and I did.  Soooo, I will feel like quite the lame ass if I don’t make it.

It averages out to 5 miles everyday.  My goal of 37.5 miles per week for April won’t be all running miles – it includes some walking ones as well.  I’m counting all of my intentional miles.  Over the last few months, I kept concentrating on moving around as much as possible.  I know this helped.  During my bratty back days, I still tried to score at least a mile a day.  Not much but it was what I could muster.  I’m not going to give up though.  I know there is more running in my future and more miles to add to that total.  Yes, I’m currently an underdog but if anything, I’ve got the “comeback kid” title locked down.

To sum it up, I have to do 7.8 miles today, tomorrow and Sunday to hit my goal.  This feels like a hefty sum so maybe I’ll take it day by day.  Who am I kidding?  I can’t take anything day by day!  Today is a lovely day outside so I’m going after work.  I also walked to and from work today although this didn’t net as many steps as I would’ve thought.  Damn!

Do you have a certain number of miles you want to reach in 2015?

8 Responses to “trying not to suck at running”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle April 17, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    I tried an annual goal for mileage one year and came up very disappointed. For me, I’ve learned the quality of the miles by far trumps the quantity of miles. Best wishes on your 10k!!

  2. Brittany April 17, 2015 at 10:17 pm #

    I’ve been running very randomly lately, which does not allow for any kind of mileage goal. HA.

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm #

      Haha, I typically don’t have a goal either but thought I would give it a go!

  3. Fallon @ Slacker Runner April 18, 2015 at 11:23 pm #

    2015 miles! Wow, that is intense. I committed to 100 this year but at this point, I don’t see how I am going to hit that. I have been short every month. Oops! Good luck with your miles!

  4. Jason April 24, 2015 at 2:03 pm #

    I’m trying to hit 3000, but I was trying last year, and I missed by a few hundred miles and life went on :) :) We’ll see what happens!

    • amysrecipefordisaster April 24, 2015 at 3:03 pm #

      Best of luck on the 3000! I’m trying to be realistic with a dash of optimism and a heaping amount of hope!

Leave a Reply

